This one time in Paris...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 14th 2009
Published: August 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Once upon a time I was an American girl in Paris. I spent my days wandering the streets soaking up as much culture as humanly possible. In my opinion, the best part about being in such a magnificent city is the opportunity to listen, taste, and smell the real culture. An open mind is mandatory, because no matter what your expectations, it will be different than you thought.

But I digress...

While staying at a fabulous youth hostel across the street from Les Jardins de Luxembourg, I decided to take a break from the French life and give my very American boyfriend a call. The phone booth was right outside the hostel, so even though it was late I felt safe stepping out alone. I had no more than stepped into the booth and closed the door when I heard a knock. My first thought was, of course, "are you freaking kidding me? I just got in here and you're trying to tell me to hurry?!"

I turned to see a gentleman of about 40 gesturing in a completely non-threatening way. It appeared he simply needed to know what time it was. Well, that was easy enough to deal with since I was wearing a watch at the time. I opened the door just far enough to tell him it was half past "time to go away and leave me alone" when he suddenly grabbed me and planted a big wet one right on my lips! I started to let him have it, but he didn't seem bothered. In fact, he offered me a job as an English tutor at the lycee across the street.

Needless to say I turned down his offer.

After that he went on his way, probably to a more gullible American than I, and I made my phone call. A week later my American boyfriend was in Paris.

Guess he didn't find the situation as funny as I did.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb