I'm leavin'... on a jet plane...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 21st 2007
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Group dinnerGroup dinnerGroup dinner

Stephanie is the one in yellow who is my travel buddy
Sorry about this, but I'm leaving for a week for Prague and Berin... but I promise to update when I return with plenty of pictures. Although this is the least planned trip I've ever gone on (ok, that's a lie... the time when I was supposed to referee at 8am Saturday morning, and discovered at 3am Friday morning that I hadn't actually bought a ticket back to Virginia might have been a little worse), I'm really excited. I ran out to get some travel guides today and both cities look beautiful! Plus, the girl I'm going with, Stephanie, even suggested that we go running together which is perfect (especially given I have to wake up at 4:30am tomorrow morning and I was planning on going running tonight at 10:30pm as I didn't think I would be able to run for a week, but now I don't have to!).

Mini update on the rest of my life here: Classes ended on Thursday with a wonderful dissertation-- we had to sit for 3 hours and answer a question about how france has maintained his world-power status since WWII. Thursday was spent celebrating with friends in front of the Eiffel Tower. Earlier in the week we had another group dinner, and this time the theme was Russian food as Seva (my MMSS friend) was cooking... and he even let me help! The menu included menu courses, as apparently Russian meals do, including a salad with pickles, beets, canned peas, boiled carrots, and a few other things which was rather good despite the fact that I don't eat half of the ingredients in it, then we has stuffed peppers, followed by a potato and mushroom mush (yummy) and then ice cream bars for dessert!

Other than that, I haven't really been up to much. I'm excited for Camille to return when I get back from my trip. It's been a lot more lonely without her here than I thought it would be, and hopefully we will be able to go out together as she suggested that we visit some museums or go and see a movie together.

Oh, and I think I forgot to mention that today was crisis day. I spilled tea on my computer last night and spent the day nourishing it back to health.

Sorry to ramble, but I felt like saying hi to everyone. I'm missing Northwestern a lot more than I thought I would, especially since all my friends are back at school. It was a little sad to see Jeremy and Noah with my friends without me 😞 But I'm sure ya'll were talking about me the entire time, so I'll just relish in the fact that I was there in spirit!!

Wish me luck in Prague and Berlin... and I hope everyone is doing well. HAPPY FIRST WEEK OF SCHOOL people at NU, and be nice to the little freshmen this week!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb