Trois nuits à joli petit Paris...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 7th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

View of the Eiffel Tower...View of the Eiffel Tower...View of the Eiffel Tower...

I'm glad we went to the Eiffel Tower at night, it was so pretty, rather than in the day when it is just dull grey metal...
The time has come again for Lucy to get back to some travelling!

After returning from my 8 months travelling stint I started University in West London, studying Music and Media. Made heaps of friends, from all around the world too, reminds me of travelling which is lovely.

So, this time for my travels, I left London Waterloo on the Eurostar for the city of Paris! I went with 3 friends from University, Goo, Bombas and Suzy. I convinced everyone to stay in a hostel (of course, I only use hostels now!) saving us lots of money, poor students you see...

We stayed in the Latin Quarter down Mouffetard. The hostel wasn't as nice as ones in Australia and New Zealand, the showers were a bit skanky but it was in a great location! It came with free breakfast too, although I think I've had enough bread now for about two weeks...seriously, everywhere is just bread, either panini, baguettes, croissants, crepes...

Our first day was jam packed visiting the typical tourist sites. I loved the Notre Dame, it is beautiful, inside and out. We went to the Louvre, I can't believe how big it is! Of course
Eiffel Tower by night...Eiffel Tower by night...Eiffel Tower by night...

I didn't realise it was covered with twinkly fairy lights in the evening, made it look rather pretty...
we saw the Mona Lisa and the Venus statue and the glass pyramid which is now even more famous from the Da Vinci Code. I loved the Egyptian sections, used to love that topic in primary school! Although I can't remember what the word is for whats underneath/inside the pyramids...and it's not tomb...

We decided on visiting the Eiffel Tower at night, a fantastic decision. It had sparkly lights all over it and looked tres jolie. Bombas is extremely scared of heights but still wanted to go to the top, so we did. The lift up was quite scary though, it even made me feel rather queasy! The very top was absolutely freezing, but had a wonderful view of the lights of Paris.

Our second day started a fair bit later as we were exhausted from the day before, and from going to bed really late after being served by I think the slowest waiter I've ever met. We took a train to Versaille and went to the huge palace there. The back garden was so big, and had these funky, perfectly cut trees everywhere. I like those... This time we took an audio guided tour, which played
The trees of Versaille...The trees of Versaille...The trees of Versaille...

Quite springy, in a strange way soft, comfy little perfectly shaped trees...
some baroque music everynow and then, I just had to dance to it, especially in the large rooms...

My last night in Paris I actually spent with a guy I met way back in Australia! It was strange seeing him again in his home country and was lovely to catch up and talk about our travels, although it made Australia return to the front of my mind again...

Day three, our last day in Paris. Our Eurostar train wasn't until 6pm, so we had to time to visit the arty Montemarte area. We ate in a cute little restaurant where a guy was playing the piano. I would so love to do that, travel the world and play piano as I go. I think I overdosed on cheese there, after ordering a platter all to myself. My new favourite cheese is chevre, goats cheese..mmm... Had a huge chuckle on the way back to central Paris when Goo and Bombas both trod in a spendid pile of dogpoo...twas funny, although I had to be careful not to do it myself after laughing at them so much. It really is everywhere and there are some very strange colours of it
Racing up to Montemarte...Racing up to Montemarte...Racing up to Montemarte...

There were so many steps and foolishly I challenged Goo to a race up them. I lost...but I do have shorter legs...
about...

Before getting back on the Eurostar for home, we went to the Pompidou Centre (after about half hour of trying to find it!) where we stared intensely at various pieces of artwork, mmming and aahhhing. There was a Surrealist section, reminded me of how much I like that type of art...

I am now back home again, well my new Uni home, and am now wanting to travel more! The travelbug has come back to me...I'll keep you posted...





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The Paris Crew...The Paris Crew...
The Paris Crew...

...at Montemarte. Lovely. Best ever...
Going up the Pompidou...Going up the Pompidou...
Going up the Pompidou...

Me and Suzy travelling up the funky outer tube escalator of the art gallery...
The view from Pompidou...The view from Pompidou...
The view from Pompidou...

I'm serious about the prettiness of Paris...and my love for my new french beret...


13th February 2007

Little French Girl !
Ah how nice to read of your adventures again ! you look beautiful in your very french beret ! so pleased you are enjoying being a poor student !!!!! have fun love you........and miss you, God bless mum xxx
14th February 2007

Hope you had fun
Nice to see you travelling again, sorry I couldn't make it to Nitin Sawney. I am taking up tabla again though soon! Random photographers fact, the eiffel tower's light display is in fact under copyright to Philips I believe. Makes it illegal to shoot as a professional without permission.
14th February 2007

Bonjour Wonderwoman
Nigel is not the first one to leave a comment ! Wonders will never cease ! My vision of Paris is now of a land full of dog poo , i think they should build some dog toilets if that is the case ! P.s. even Joshua calls me Coco now. I think i would have enjoyed the art galleries,i did a drawing over Christmas and surprised myself with how good it was even if i say so myself. and no it was not a dot to dot book ! Lots of Love Coco Pops.
14th February 2007

lovely
How good it was to see photo's of you in Paris. You look very much like your mum in your beret. When she was a lot younger, of course. Enjoy and keep looking for you know what before I'm too old. Lots of love Sue. xxxxx
14th February 2007

Free
Hi Lucy really enjoyed reading your journal, it was like old times although some things never change FREE Breakfast even though it was mainly bread never mind it was FREE. Not sure about the different coloured dog poo, is that what you students study on your off days!!!Seems like your having a great time Keep up the good work. lots of lovexxxxx
15th February 2007

hat
your hat is lovely
16th February 2007

Ca va?
Are you flaring your nostrils in the photo of ''the view from pompidou'' MMMMMwwaahh PIB
16th February 2007

coco pops big ed
The picture i drew, i surprised myself on how good it was!! Was it painting by numbers!! Only kidding

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb