Le Louvre- Home of the Mona Lisa


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris » Sarcelles
December 2nd 2012
Published: December 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Le LouvreLe LouvreLe Louvre

The glass pyramid
Le Louvre is one of the most famous sites in all of France. It is also the most visited art museum in the world. It has everything from sculptures and paintings, to actual rooms full of historical furniture and decor. I'd never been a history fanatic, but strolling through the museum, I found myself taking an interest in many of the pieces hanging on the walls and what message they had behind them.

The museum's art is organized by artist's name, and also by country which the artist is from. As I walked through, I noticed some young Parisians sitting on the floor, sketching or painting one of the monuments they had taken an interest in. If I had this talent, I would've been doing the same. It's almost impossible to see and analyse every single piece of art in the Louvre because it's so massive. It's mandatory that you take at least a full afternoon of exploring if you want to get anything out of it.

Outside the museum is a giant courtyard, and the well-known monument called the Louvre Pyramid. It's made purely of glass and metal. This area is a perfect spot to sit and have
Le LouvreLe LouvreLe Louvre

The front of the museum
lunch, and just admire the view it offers. Beware of the pigeons! haha.

The most exciting part of visiting the Louvre was getting the chance to see the original Mona Lisa. It has a full room to itself, and looks extremely tiny as it hangs on a giant bare wall. There were probably hundreds of people in this room, pushing and shoving just to get a quick snapshot of the painting. With my digital camera, I tried following suit, but couldn't without having my elbow knocked every two seconds. Beside me, a tall man took my camera, snapped a photo, and handed it back to me. I thanked him by means of "merci", and quickly left the crowded area. I think there's some tall man who does this for a short tourist girl every day. haha.

I rate this extravagant visit 5/5 stars!

Visit some of my other entries for other monuments in Paris!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb