day 2 of cycling, Chinon-chinon


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Chinon
August 6th 2011
Published: August 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Cave housesCave housesCave houses

one of the many i passed on my journey
today I was in for a round cycle trip of 55kms, I started off at about 9.30am today. I biked through mostly farming areas today, lots of sunflower fields and a few kms by the river. I biked through Savigny-en-Veron, Candes-St-Martin and quite a few small villages. They were quite amazing as in Parnay they had cave apartments in which there is a lot of cellers for wine growers, certainly not something you see every day. Then it was onto Fontevraud, Couziers, Lerne and Cinais which were all small quaint little towns. Being saturday there wasn't mush open on the way and there wasn't the stopping for all the Chateaus as there were none on he route, which was a nice break for the day. I got back to the hotel mid afternoon. after some lunch andd a shower i went into Chinon. there was a festival on in Chinon, they had lots of people dressed in Renassance style clothing, lots of wee stalls, there was also a parade, so after having a wee look around and some dinner I went back to the hotel for the night. I was rudly awoken at about 11.30 after just dozing off to what I thought was a fight but then soon realised was fireworks that they set off from by the river for the festival, so after about half an hour of loud bangs and pretty colours I went back to sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

SunflowersSunflowers
Sunflowers

just one of the many fiels of sunfowers i saw


Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb