He hooked a 200 pounder...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Burgundy
January 21st 2011
Published: January 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was awoken abruptly at 5am the morning after we reached Baye. The boat listed heavily starboard, the doors banged open, and I heard swearing and shouting. In my half sleeping state I momentarily believed we'd been boarded by pirates. I then recognised the swearing, cursing voice and heavy footfalls as those of my dear hublet. I lifted my head and opened one eye as he slammed clumsily into the bathroom.
“Baby, what's going on?” I asked “What time is it?”
The response was more swearing.
“Mike?” I asked
“I've got a hook in my head.” came his reply.
I thought I'd misheard. “What?”
“ I've got a hook in my head.”
“Are you alright?” I asked
“Yeah, I'm just getting it out.” He replied.
After a minute or so he emerged with a cut across his forehead and his fishing rod in his hand. I started giggling.
“How did you manage that?!” I asked incredulously
“I couldn't sleep so I decided to try a bit of fishing. I had been fishing for an hour with a spinner and hadn't had much luck so I reeled in to cast out further. When I cast off again the line whipped round and the hook went into my forehead.”
I pressed my lips together trying my best not to dissolve into hysterics. “At least you caught something.” I said.
Mike grinned “Yeah, a 6 footer”
“Must be getting on for 200 pounds as well,” I said “That's got to be one for the record books around here!”
I asked why he felt the need to wake me up by banging about on to the boat, and he explained that he didn't want to take the hook out without the aid of a mirror and had climbed a board still holding the rod close to his head so as not to rip the hook through. I wished I'd opened my eyes sooner to have seen him lummoxing about with a rod held next to his head. Bless.
Now we were both up we left for a big bike ride in the early morning mist before coming back for breakfast and getting on the road again. It was 1 day until my birthday and we wanted to find somewhere to spend it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.38s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb