The rain is not in Spain!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Burgundy
June 3rd 2008
Published: June 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Action clip! 3 secs
2: Rain rain rain rain rain 18 secs
3: Camping at the farm 41 secs
Voila, my first blog videos and pretty darn fine they are too. Oh yes. Well, all it does in France is rain, which is good for the slugs, which are still hunting my bicycle shorts under the flysheet at night, but, but, maybe it's beginning to change. I got mosquito bitten last night, which I believe is a positive omen for better weather. I am, the barman tells me, in THE SMALLEST TOWN IN EUROPE!, though I can't remember what it's called right now. It's full of boats, has a big river, rains a lot, is near Dijon (where the ketchup comes from) and is just the place for a wee rest. I've been here 2 days, doing nothing, 'cause I was knackered.
I've been flying up all sorts of big mountains (the Vercors and the Chartreuse), but now, at last, I'm onto flatness and I like it!
The French are betting mad. Every cafe seems to be showing horse racing and the old boys are there with their betting slips, generally looking a little crestfallen. Their priorities are all wrong. An adjacent tv in this bar has the ladies tennis from Roland Garros. They've got better legs thqn me! I like them (oh dear, too long on a bike.....).
SO.
What next?
My masterplan is to go to Amsterdam, but as of today I'm almost certain I'm going via Blighty, where, gulp, I'll leave my bike and swop it for a rucksack.
Calais here I come. Probably.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb