Day Four Beaune in the Burgandy Region


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Burgundy » Beaune
October 7th 2009
Published: October 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post


Day four: Going to Beaune


Today started early. Our room in our charming little hotel faced the street. They started emptying garbage cans around 5:00 AM. Of course, we both woke up and started the day. The best way I can describe the bathing situation is to say that it was a tub/shower. There was a tub, and a hand held shower nozzle, but there was no shower curtain. The best we could do was to squat in the tub, and spray our bodies. Larry had to help me rinse my hair, which was hysterical. I washed my hair before I realize that the blow-dryer was really a vacuum cleaner hose (see pix). (I forgot to mention that the first day in Stuttgart I turned my hair dryer on and it immediately burned out).
We then began the drive to Beaune. The toll booths were exciting. I kept seeing the word “pèage” and said to Larry, “I wonder what that means.” I finally looked it up in my Rick Steves’ book and found out it means “toll.” $20.10 later we arrived in Beaune.
We finally arrived at La Villa Fleurie, a cute 10 room hotel. We took our
Sunrise in ColmarSunrise in ColmarSunrise in Colmar

This was the beautiful sunrise this morning.
bags in and headed for the center of town. We toured the Hotel Dieu, a medieval charity hospital that is now a museum. This was an incredible experience.
Next we were off to view the wine country and Château de la Rochepot. Driving through the little towns was very nerve-racking. The streets were only large enough for one car (barely) and the little alleys were only big enough for bikes (or so it seemed). I had my eyes shut the whole time…

We also thought the weather would be New England, but turned into South Carolina “hot”.

Dinner was where I shine (Larry) with my French…..I picked up what I thought was the wine list and the (it was desert) the waitress said “Non” and jerked it away from me so I asked for the wine list - she ignored me. I asked in my best French for tap water, courtesy of Rick Steves, she said “Non” tastes bad. I finally got the wine list and I am by no means good at French Wines, but I picked out a nice red wine, reasonably priced and our waitress said, you guessed it, “Non” this is better so we
Can you believe thisCan you believe thisCan you believe this

Gail's having a bad hair day - shower in tub with no curtain and trying to dry her hair with what looks like a vacuum hose.
had this and it was good.

Well it has been a long fun day, but tomorrow is a new town……..(can’t spell it)

Cheers
Larry and Dr. Gail



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Statue of vineyard workers.Statue of vineyard workers.
Statue of vineyard workers.

This statue is in Puligny Montrachet.
Chateau de la Rochepot.Chateau de la Rochepot.
Chateau de la Rochepot.

A Burgundian Castle.Rick Steves said to take this picture.
The draw bridge.The draw bridge.
The draw bridge.

You have to knock three times on the door!
Gail reading Rick Steves.Gail reading Rick Steves.
Gail reading Rick Steves.

Trying to figure out what to order.
Our really french waitress.Our really french waitress.
Our really french waitress.

She told us what to order!!
No chocolate.No chocolate.
No chocolate.

Larry had apple pie...really American.


7th October 2009

Oct 7th
LOVE the hair dryer story. Our hair is very important part of our dress. Kathie.
7th October 2009

Beaune
You have found one of our stops. It is neat to see some of the places that we visited. I note in your "buying gas" photo a Mercedes Benz symbol on the hood. Makes me want to see more. Show us the car...
7th October 2009

Call me Stupid!
You can call me stupid, but i hit the "unsubscribe." Please put me back on. I love following your trip!
8th October 2009

Glad you are okay
Sounds like quite an adventure and am enjoying each days blog
8th October 2009

Love the hairdryer picture. What we women have to go through to look good. I swear it is just too easy for men. Tom and I loved this town, so I know you are having a great time. The blog is great....keep them coming. Jackie
8th October 2009

fun, fun
John and I are having a great time reading your daily blogs! Kathie and John
9th October 2009

Blow-dryer
Gail--I know exactly how you felt..Those type of hair dryers are in hotels all over Europe and, you better be quick in drying your hair because the longer you use them the hotter the handle gets! The pictures are beautiful. Hope the nice weather holds out. Diane

Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb