The Chapel Kermania - Discovery of Bretagne


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Brittany
August 26th 2008
Published: October 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We sat behind quietly looking at both Monsieur and Madam --- are guiding us somewhere, we did not have a clue.

Three of them speak in French, which left me very little opportunity to understand. I mainly focus on reading Les Liaisons Dangereuses by Laclos. Now & then I was abruptly disturb to inform that we were taking this road, that direction, then we have missed the direction to this unknown place. I quietly sat behind & listen to them.

Finally, we reached outside a little village where we found sign post telling us to follow. We arrived at the chapel of Kermania, which is famous for many reasons. I realised that that many reasons are enough to visit this place. the chapel of Kermania was built around 13th century in Plouha to commemorate the victory of the Crusade in Jerusalem. This little chapel is regarded as one of the oldest chapels in the region.

The entrance to the chapel is decorated with wooden carved saints, who stood both side of the walls. We entered through the main door, to see danse Macabre. Apparently these kind of paintings are only limited to this chapel. I had a problem of understanding about history behind the skeleton paintings. I have seen similar kind of paintings in a Buddhist temple I visited in Sri Lanka. It was about the life after death!

We then went to see the little dusty box, which contains someone's skull!

We finished our visit within less than an hour. It was getting darker and darker. I prayed myself at the Chapel for a sunny day. I hope that the rain god would not disappoint me today. We are going to the island of Brehat. Our purpose of visiting Brehart is legal. We are going to buy ten agapantes (Some beautiful blue flowers growing everywhere on this island).


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 102; dbt: 0.1717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb