Beaucoup de Aventures partout tu Regarde


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Brittany » Rennes
February 10th 2008
Published: February 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


St-MaloSt-MaloSt-Malo

Welcome to St-Malo

Beaucoup de Aventures




Salut! Ca va? It has been a while since I have posted, but this time I have so many new adventures to share. I have been very busy lately with trips, school, and life. I am going to tell you about everything that I have done to the smallest detail. So, after reading this blog and looking at the pictures I know that all of you will want to come and visit me. J'espere!!!

Saint Malo

As most of you know and for those of you who don't I visited the beach on Saturday. Seven of the foreign students and I packed our bags, bought a bus ticket, and headed to Saint Malo for the day. We did not know what kind of adventures or fun that was coming our way.
History of St. Malo
St. Malo is a lively port, that has a maritime past and a walled citadel. The main attraction in the citadel, which is known as Intra Muros and has been restored after being bombed in 1944. There are two islands called Petite Be and Grand Be. If you get stranded by the tide, well then you have a six
The GroupThe GroupThe Group

Our only guy from Sweden was taking the picture. The people are from Sweden, Finland, Germany, Czech Republic, Scotland, and the US!
hour wait before you come back. Don't worry we did not get stranded.
That is a little bit of the history, but let me get to the good stuff, Our Day! It was so much fun. The bus ride was only about an hour and a half and was real cheap. Total it was 4 euros, which is about $6. When we arrived there we took a few pictures and walked around. Everyone then started complaining about how hungry they were and we had to decided on somewhere to go. This was very challenging, because some people wanted to eat at a creperie and others at a restaurant. We finally decided on a creperie, which was a very good decision. Most of the people ordered the Menu Tradition where you were served a three course meal of crepes. I decided to have the mushroom omelette with fries. It was very good. After eating a nice and long lunch we decided to do some discovering. We walked around the cute town. We visited the Cathedrale St-Vincent which has a modern stained-glass window and diamond-shaped mosaic commemorating Jacques Cartier's explorationof the interior of Canada in 1535. It was so pretty. The stained glass was beautiful just like all catherdrals. We then visited a small park which had monuments honoring the men who had fought in WWII. The monuments were very interesting. After, breathing all this in we finally made it to the best part the BEACH! It was so gorgeous and it had gotten very warm. Which, just made the day better. We ended up exploring the beach. It is very difficult to walk around because you have to walk on all of these rocks before you can touch the sand or water. Finally, after doing a tad bit of rock climbing we decided to take a hike. We visited a tiny island and had to hike for about 15 minutes. It was worth it. On the way was just amazing. If you just look around you will see all the gifts that nature shows us. I was walking a saw a tiny lizard on a leaf sun bathing. Then I saw a hide out in the rocks. The best part was listening to the seagulls and the water. Finally, we made it to the top and saw just breath taking views. We had decided to take some time out of the
The townThe townThe town

A cute hotel
day and just RELAX! We layed down on the grass or rocks that were smooth and felt the warm sun. We were sun bathing like the lizard and soaking in the nice rays. Christine our friend from Sweden brought some cookies, so we had a little snack. Laughing, listening to the waves, sun bathing, and relaxing is what I call a Good Day! There was a seagull close by and some of my friends were tossing it little pieces of the cookie and it got really close to us. It was scary and interesting at the same time. Of course the time was flying by and we decided to head down the tiny island and back to shore. We did some sea shell collecting! It was fun. After being at the beach for a while we headed back to town. Where a few of my friends and I went to another creperie. I was told by my french friends that you must try the ice cream there. So, that is exactly what I did. I orded some ice noix de coco, which I thought was dark chocolate, but turns out it was b]Coconut. It was okay, because I like coconut
The townThe townThe town

A bulding
and it reminds me of a summer day. I then ordered some hot chocolate which was very good. 😊 Then of course after having out afternoon ice cream we had to shop a little bit. We only had 10 minutes to look in this one store and I found so many things, but I will be going back! As you know all good things must come to an end and that is exactly what happened to us. It was time to catch the bus, but our day couldn't have been any better! The beach was tres joli and breat taking!

Supermarche

The French love there supermarche. On Saturday until 1pm there is a huge supermarche at the metro stop called Sainte Anne. When Maddy and I arrived there we were over whelmed so we decided just to walk around and see what it had to offer. Outside there were four rows of just vegetables and fruit. You had to be smart and really shop good, to find the best produce for the best price. Everyone has there shopping bags or these rolley bags to stock up on produce for the week. I ended up buying bananas and oranges.
The marine partThe marine partThe marine part

The boats
The oranges were so Delicious! When I bought them the women could tell I spoke English so she responded to me and the whole time I was thinking, "Women I can speak french you know!" My friend just said she wanted to speak english. After picking out some fruits and veggies we ended up in the fish market. There were so many kinds of fish, big to little. Shrimp that still had there heads and we even saw eel that I think might have been alive. They looked like snake and kind of frieghtened me! AWWWWW!!!!! I could not take the smell of the fish anymore so Maddy and I headed into the poultry market. I saw so much meat, cheese, and desserts. Though I saw these chickens for sell with there heads still on. It was grose. I wasn't in to purchasing meat, but just had to see before I left. After leaving and being trampled and split up due to the crowds of people Maddy and I stumbled across the flower market. This was my favorite because you saw all these beautiful flowers for sell. My favorite were the yellow roses I saw. They were just so beautiful.
The townThe townThe town

A carosel in the town
So for your information when going to the supermarche This will make for a wonderful day at the market! 😊


Jardin de Thabor

After leaving the market, Maddy and I had some time to kill. So, we were just walking around, but then we stumbled across the garden of Thabor. We were told to go and see and make sure that we didn't stop, but keep walking because it goes so far back. It was absolutely gorgeous. The grass was just so green. The trees were cut just right and I just thought I was in a fairy tale. Maddy ended up taking a picture of a bridge were she almost fell in mud. I was interested in taking pictures of the trees and statues. The best part was the exocic bird cage in the middle of the park. There was just all the birds chirping away and just being so happy. I have never seen anything like this, but I just thought it was magnifique! There were so many kinds of birds from parrots, to parakeets, and pigeons
Cathedral St-VincentCathedral St-VincentCathedral St-Vincent

Here is the Cathedral and the stained glass!
of course. Then have you ever seen a ping pong table or fuseball table in a garden. Of course there were some of these at different spot in the garden. The garden just had so many feautures to share with everybody. I just wanted to sit in the warm sun and be on a pique nique because the garden was just beautiful.

Miscallaneous parts

Lately I have been to a few creperies with Maddy for dinner mostly becuase it was late and we had nothing to eat for diner. My favorite part has been going out with my french friends to a cafe and ordering a hot chocolate with all this whip cream. It is sooooo good! The rest of my freinds get cafe, but not me! I have been practicing my french with my friends and native french speakers. I met up with my parrain the other day and spoke in french, while the cliche is true "The French love to correct you" and he was correcting me left and right. It does not bother me because it really is good for me! I am so glad that I have met lots of friends and I am
The townThe townThe town

The streets
constantly practicing my french. Classes are going good, but I have only had two and both of those classes were to hours long. Modern Art was a little boring for me. You know how you see the students in a classroom with the slide projectore looking at pictures, well yeah that is EXACTLY what I was doing! The information about the first and only picture we saw in 2 hours was interesting. I almost fell asleep, but then the teacher said break time. Thank God. I didn't think I was going to make it. My other class is the study of the french language. It is just grammer, grammer, and more grammer. The teachers are nice though and very supportive of the students learning the language. I am in class with other foreign students from the US, China, Mexico, Spain, Brazil, Japan, Korea, and a few other places. It is nice.

It has been 2 lovely weeks for me feeled with lots of adventure. As you can tell I have been very busy, but I am loving every minute of it!

I will be updating you on my other classes next week after I have been to all of them! Don't forget I will be writing about more adventures and my new french life. So wait pateintly and you will recieve an email soon!

bisou bisou






Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

The BeachThe Beach
The Beach

Reminded me of looking through a window and see the beach in the back yard!
The BeachThe Beach
The Beach

Sailboats, just thought it was beautiful
The TownThe Town
The Town

Just thought a picture of all the tops of building would be nice!
Cathedrale St-VincentCathedrale St-Vincent
Cathedrale St-Vincent

Beautiful stained glass
Cathedrale St-VincentCathedrale St-Vincent
Cathedrale St-Vincent

I thought this was pretty
My friendsMy friends
My friends

Maddy, Laura (Findland), and I


11th February 2008

Beautiful!
I'm so glad you're venturing out and seeing the country! I want to be in the Jardin de Thabor!!!! It all looks so gorgeous, and even the Supermarche looks interesting. Keep soaking it all in...loveya!
27th February 2008

WOW
Wow! I am so glad that you are having all these wonderful experiences! I love reading about all of the stuff that you do and looking at all the beautiful pictures that you take! I wish I was there with you, but just remember that I am always there with you in my heart!! Love ya chica! PiNa CoLaDaS fOrEvEr!!!!!

Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb