relaxing in Brittany


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Brittany » La Gacilly
September 15th 2010
Published: September 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My parents have a house in Brittany, in a small village called St. Martin, they were going there on holiday so I went to see them for a week. It was so great because I hadn’t seen them for 3 months! And my grandparents went as well, they didn’t know I was coming so it was a surprise when I turned up! The house is right in the countryside and we have a huge garden so it was so calm and chilled while I was there, such a difference from cities! For the first day I did not much and chilled out, my family had just arrived as well so we didn’t do much, just ate lots of food!

My auntie and uncle also have a house near Guemene so they came to visit us for a night, with their two dogs. So that night we chatted and ate and drank, went for a walk and not much else! My grandfather injured his thumb fixing the shower, then my auntie turned up with a bandaged thumb from a splinter, then my Dad cut his thumb as well, so there was three of them with injured thumbs!

My auntie and uncle left after lunch the next day and my friend Chris arrived from home, he flew from Rennes and rented a car. We met him in La Gacilly, a little craft town with loads of little pretty shops and art galleries and things. We had a walk around, had some tea in a café, and I brought a skirt! There is the Yves Rocher building in La Gacilly and they had new photo exhibitions there so we looked at those for a while. In the evening we went to Malestroit for a pizza (best in the world) and watched the music going on in the square. There was a band which I like to call ‘’hardcore Breton’’, it’s like Celtic rock. And another rock band which did covers like Johnny Cash and I shot the Sheriff and stuff!

On Sunday we had a party, my Mum’s friend from work and her husband came for the night and our two friends who live up the road in the village. The morning was spent making food and Chris cut up some wood, and cut his finger; join the club! We had lots of food, wine and sat in the garden all afternoon and evening. Unfortunately I got a bit drunk so when Scott got out his guitar for a singsong I made a bit of a fool of myself by singing a lot haha!

Next morning was a beautiful one so we walked down into the village, over the canal, to Bernard’s where we had moules and frites; so good! We walked back and chilled for the afternoon in the garden on the hammocks. In the evening we took a walk up to the lake.

Next day was not so good but Dad had a great idea of going sea fishing and cooking the fish on a bbq on the beach, and we really wanted to do it so we went to St. Philibert to give it a go. But when we got there it started pouring so we just had tea in a café and came home, Dad cooked curry instead so I didn’t complain! In the evening we walked up to the lake again to see our friends.

Chris and I left the next morning to take the car back and get the train to Switzerland. We had such a chilled holiday and it was great to see my family for a while!


Sorry my card messed up so I have no pictures for this blog doh!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb