To France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine
June 7th 2012
Published: June 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

UploadedFile0UploadedFile0UploadedFile0

"My" train. Rotterdam.
Thursday 7th

Fond farewells this morning as Will packs me off on the TGV to Paris and then Biarritz. The trains are gobsmackingly fast! I haven't done the whole train thing here for over 30 years, so things have changed somewhat!

Got a cute Parisien cabbie to take me from Gare du Nord to Gare Montparnasse. He was like a tour guide - very friendly and talkative and pointing out landmarks. His English was probably better than my French, but he indulged me!

Can't help but notice, these Frenchmen, at the station, in the street, on the train, are seriously hot. And beautifully dressed. My carriage contains mostly businessmen, with bold gazes that make me blush. I feel like I'm in a movie... Coldplay in my ears as we rocket and sway through classic French countryside. I pretend to read, but can't really concentrate. :D

Welcomed so warmly by the Ducoudré family, whose daughter lived with us for a month a couple of years ago. Eugénie (19) & I have a strong bond, and her family are just as gorgeous as she is.

Eugénie, her mother Pascale (a history & geography teacher), and her aunt took
ParisParisParis

À la Gare du Nord
me straight to an upmarket beachside bar for apéritifs, where we found out more about each other in a strange mix of slightly dodgy English and really dodgy French!

Then home to meet her father Michel, (an interventional cardiologist) and her 16 yr old brother, Arnaud. Pasquale had prepared a delicious dinner - she was born and raised on the island of Réunion, and so cooked a traditional dish of pork and lychees! Followed by incredible tartes from the patisserie, and summer berries. They take their wine pretty seriously too, which can only ever be a good thing!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

ParisParis
Paris

Departures board at Montparnasse
BiarritzBiarritz
Biarritz

My family for a week!


11th June 2012

France
Sounds like you're in your element! Did I ever tell you about my French fling when I was in Foreign Affairs!! We might have a few stories to compare over the old J.P. Chenet!! x
12th June 2012

Fling
Definitely sounds like an evening of French champagne and storytelling is in order! x
11th June 2012

What the heck ?!
I think I did know you were tripping off into the French sunset - how much fun must you be having - FANTASTIQUE!!! Totally the best thing to do; just immersing yourself in family life in another country. I did it whe I was 13 on a French exchange every year until I was 16! I was dreaming in french by the end of the 1st week! Live every minute and absorb all the experiences, sights and sounds of France! How totally brilliant! Love Bx
12th June 2012

I am in my element. I think I must've lived here in a former life! x

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb