BEACH LIFE


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Seignosse
June 25th 2010
Published: June 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

Took a ride through the woods and toward the coast for some aloof time.
It is 1:30 AM here, and I'm sitting on the couch. Batman Begins is on the teley (I am strongly influenced by the Brits and their parlances, because, well frankly, I cahn't be bothered...). I slept for an hour, but woke up in a sandy, sticky mess with a mosquito celebrating on my skin. Seems I've fused with the beach. I am salt water and sand. I coudn't take it so I took a cold shower and now I'm here, fresh to type clean nothings for you.
I think my time here is coming to a close. I feel the wave slowing down and that's fine. I'm glad I decided to stay longer, even if it means I won't be able to do the whole Camino. In fact, I'm not sure where the Camino stands right now in my immediate future. The seemingly solo nature of walking for days and days is not super appealing to me. I dearly love nature and the lonesome road, but I also have remembered how I love people as well. So I'll see. I will probably head down toward Spain, but not sure exactly what or where. Maybe a piece of the Camino, a week
Photo 9Photo 9Photo 9

Morning surf.
or so, feel it out and possibly some city time for kicks and general craziness. I have some interesting folks to meet in Barcelona, some clowns, and that could be fun. I could try to get all the way to Portugal. I could stay in Northern Spain and head to Bilbao and see Pearl Jam, or San Sebastian for more surfing, low key style.
For now, that will be all. I'll let the photos of the past days speak.
Good night,
D


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Rob, the captain of the surf hostel. A cool dude from Jersey, England who's been very generous with his time and surfing know-how. Fell in love with surf and claims it saved his life. Lives down here with his partner Lisa who paints and his four kids. "Grommets" they call 'em.
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

This woman will never know. She's been immortalized. She killed me without moving a muscle.
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Typical view of the wild coast near Hossegor.
Photo 2Photo 2
Photo 2

Cool dude named Todd from Australia, or Oz, as its called. Travelling around, surfing and seeing. Tonight we sat on the beach at sunset and downed a few warm beers.
Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

Dogs are buddhas.
Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Moving fast with Coco. Coco's unwavering desire to stick his head out the window convinced me that dogs have a souls.
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

10 PM, Wednesday night, June 23, 2010, Les Estagnols.
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

One badass please. Thank you.
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Surf inspired art. Realism meets Fantastasism. Might be hung on a wall here at this bar called Creme Cafe.


26th June 2010
Photo 12

great drawing....who's the artist????
26th June 2010

Loved the pics! Missing you...glad you are well. The beaches and sunsets look amazing! Time to move on, you say?? Look forward to seeing what's next.
26th June 2010

oh come on mamma, you know its me!
26th June 2010

love the pix
where exactly are you??? ab/sw
26th June 2010

i'm in seignosse, which is the west coast of france, just a bit north of the pyrenees. surf capital of europe. wild coastline, medium infrastructure. obviously gorgeous. glad you like the blog! drew
27th June 2010

cool
keep em coming bro love reading these enjoy ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
28th June 2010

Great photos. Great drawings. I think the journey you are taking is exciting. I hope you are getting great things from this time you are taking for yourself. Thank you for sharing.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb