Chatelavy


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Dordogne
December 7th 2007
Published: December 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

University holiday partyUniversity holiday partyUniversity holiday party

Will, me & his classmates Sarah and Lynn
I am now at Will’s in the south of France! I took the train here on Tuesday and then Will and I headed to a holiday party for international students at his University. We were both expecting a quiet get together for dinner and instead walked in on a raging party with free alcohol and techno music. Surprise! We didn’t partake in any of the extreme activities but did find ourselves munching on some goodies from around the world (I believe everyone was asked to bring a dish from their home country to share). There was sushi and German potato salad with hot dogs and of course lots and lots of delicious tarts and chocolates…needless to say, I was quiet pleased. We only stayed long enough to meet his classmates and fill our tummies and then headed down the road, but it was nice to become acquainted with Will’s life at Uni.

Wednesday we just lounged around the house and today we went Christmas tree shopping…in the woods. We found a perfect little tree and we will go chop it down and decorate it once the weather clears up. I’m pretty sure it will be the ugliest Christmas tree ever
Mystery Fruit!Mystery Fruit!Mystery Fruit!

I think the expression on Will's face says it all...
because Will wants to decorate it in blue and I want to decorate it in pink…so it looks like we will have a small, dilapidated tree that doesn’t know if it’s a boy or a girl. We also made a trip to the grocery story for a few things and came across the largest, strangest fruit I have ever seen. It’s green and is almost the size of my head! We suspect it’s a grapefruit but we’re not entirely sure. ‘Mystery Fruit’, as it was dubbed, shall be opened tomorrow and we will figure out once and for all what it is!

We also decided that we will take a holiday to Andorra before Christmas. Andorra is a small country between France and Spain and I’ve had some borderline obsession with it for the last few months. It is 180 square miles and has a population of 80,000. It also has the highest life expectancy in the world and the capital, Andorra la Vella, boasts Europe’s largest day spa. I’m sold!

For you praying people, a couple of requests… Will’s dad is in the hospital right now having some kind of surgery on his ear; it doesn't seem to major and he's expected to be out Sunday morning. And my friend Kelly’s brother is in the hospital with severe liver trouble. Just keep them in your thoughts!

Tomorrow we’re headed to the local Irish pub (there really is one in every town) for some live music and a meal and this weekend there’s a Christmas market in a nearby town that we plan to check out! It will be a nice, relaxing weekend!


Advertisement



10th December 2007

Hi
I thougth I commented yesterday, but it's not here. You know me...don't work well with tech. Miss you! xo, mom

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb