Way overdue update!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
April 13th 2008
Published: April 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow...it's been a long time since I've written...I've actually had some classes! 😊

School's still going well. Classes are kind of interesting and not a lot of work, so that's always good! We just had a professor from Colorado, so that was a lot of fun. I had a class Friday night and Saturday that was interesting. It was an elective, so there were a lot of French people in the class. The professor was from Ireland - she was interesting, but didn't have much tact! She said quite a few rude things about America and it got kind of annoying after a while. She said that French like the Canadians only because French don't like Americans...

Which brings me to an interesting experience on the tram. I was going home from school with Kelsey, a guy from Canada. He was wearing a Canadian stocking hat and some girl who got on the tram asked if we were from Canada. I said no, I'm from the States and the girl said sorry then ignored me for the rest of the ride. It's the first time since I've been here that someone has really been rude to me for being American - most people get excited to share what knowledge they have of the States, wondering if they're right.

Towards the end of March, Bordeaux hosted Challenge Ericome, the sports challenge. We won the girls basketball team trophy and Bordeaux won the overall trophy, so that was a ton of fun!! Our first two games were total blowouts - winning each by at least 40 points. Our 3rd game we won by about 15 I think, then we won the final by about 10 points - it was actually a pretty difficult game - we just had more endurance. It was a really fun weekend!

We also have basketball finals this Thursday for the season. We had semi-finals this past Thursday and it was quite the interesting game! We only had 6 girls that could show up, with only two post players, so I knew right away I'd probably play the whole game. About 5 minutes into the game, one of our guards hurt her knee, so we were down to 5 players. Then the other post player hurt her ankle and ended up going to the clinic, so we had to play 4-on-5 for a while! Eventually the guard came in and just played the middle on 2-3 defense to help out on that end - she pretty much just stood there, but it actually helped quite a bit! We still won by 6, so that was great! I think it was the first time since I've been here that I've scored in double-digits, so that was a lot of fun!

Last Saturday, a bunch of us went to the park for a picnic - and got a nice tan 😊 But we played a game of American football - it was great even though a lot of people had no idea how to play! While we were playing, a little French boy, about 8-10 years old, came over and started watching, so we decided to ask him to play with us. He was on the opposite team, so my team decided to kick it off to him and let him run it a ways before touching him. Then we let him run in a touchdown. I think he had a really good time!! Stefan, one of Teresa's roommates had friends here from Austria, so they had a party at their house later that night - I think 50-60 people showed up and I was able to meet more French people, which was a lot of fun!!

Advertisement



27th April 2008

Fun time!
Sounds like BB was a lot of fun - getting points in double digits - maybe your HS coach should know this!!! I bet is was a little upsetting to hear someone not like Americans!!!! See you in June. Grandma

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb