My New Love on Valentine's Day


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
February 14th 2007
Published: February 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sleepy SundaysSleepy SundaysSleepy Sundays

With not a person in sight...
I know that I always said that my year here in France was going to be just about me. I said that I was going to use this year to ‘find myself’, to be independent, and not to let my experiences get tainted with messy, emotional dramas. I swore that I wouldn’t fall in love.

Well, here I am, just over 4 weeks into my stay here and I’m already eating my words. I’m well and truly, head over heels in love…… with Strasbourg.

I tried to stop it but I just I couldn’t control myself! I didn’t plan it - it just happened. It’s beauty has rendered me powerless. Everywhere I look is breathtaking. Every corner turned is another exciting street to be discovered. I love exploring Strasbourg, and I know it’s only the honeymoon phase, but I really feel like I belong here.

And I’m feeling guilty too because I’m still so much in love with Sydney. It’s like I’m cheating on Sydney with Strasbourg - and I don't even want to think about Sydney right now because I don't want to think about facing it with the sin of having loved another city while I
My StreetMy StreetMy Street

Every time I walk down my street to my appartment I want to take a photo but I have to restrain myself because I don't want to feel like a tourist all the time!
was away.

Not only am I in love with the city, I'm in love with my appartment. It's so central it's hard to believe I chose it over the internet before I got here. I could've waited until I arrived, schlepped around the city for 2 weeks visiting every available place, and then still not have found one as good as this. It's too good to be true! Every morning I wake up and look out the window at the view, stick my head outside and breathe in the chilly air (which is probably why I keep getting a cold!) and think to myself how happy I am and how much I love this city. Not to mention Juliette and Bastian who are absolutely amazing flatmates.

It only takes 25 minutes to walk to uni, in fact, in only takes about 5 to 30 minutes to walk pretty much anywhere. And the walks are so beautiful because they're either down a cute little cobble stoned lane, or by the river. In fact, I think if there wasn’t so much water here I’d be missing the beach a lot more. The river encircles the city centre and if I’m
My AppartmentMy AppartmentMy Appartment

My appartment block - oh so cute!
ever feeling stressed or if something goes wrong, I can just take a walk by the river and I feel fine. You can’t swim in it, but when did I ever go swimming at the beach? It’s always too cold! (It’ll be interesting to see if my opinions on the cold change at all after a year here.)

So, that’s my love confession out in the open. It’s a relationship with an expiry date, which is something I never wanted to deal with, but I’m taking it on board never the less. And maybe, just like in other relationships, all the little things I love about Strasbourg will end up annoying me, so that maybe once my year is up I’ll be glad to leave it behind. I have a feeling although that that won’t be the case - but I’m just enjoying my new love for the moment, one day at a time.






Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Sunset From My WindowSunset From My Window
Sunset From My Window

(Picture from Lizette)
The Cathedral The Cathedral
The Cathedral

The cathedral is such an important part of the city I need to get some better pics and explain more about it later...
Place CathedralPlace Cathedral
Place Cathedral

One of the more touristy streets in Strasbourg near the Cathedral.
Ill RiverIll River
Ill River

Just next to the beautiful Ill river I have the pleasure of walking by every day on my way to uni.
Ill RiverIll River
Ill River

Deep breath.... and sigh!


21st February 2007

verty funny...
Very funny, you nearly had me there... By the way you are a fantastic writer, it is really interesting to read your stuff.
21st February 2007

Wow
I can see why you are in love (you didn't get me though - I could see the punch line). Never-the-less another fantastic read - writing is definitely one of your fortes.

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 88; dbt: 0.1145s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb