There is a heat wave here in Finland


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland
July 24th 2006
Published: July 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

TampereTampereTampere

The city of the Textile Industry
Yes you heard it correctly, we are experiencing a scorching 27 degrees. For Finland this is a heatwave. Usually when they just say 27 degrees they mean minus 27. Heatwave or not, it's been nice weather.

The internet here is rediculously expensive so ill be brief.

I flew into Tampere and spent 2 hours lookin for a hostel. (I'm staying in hostels cause I have next to no money) I was actually lucky enough to have a whole dorm to myself.

Tampere is ok. It has been a large industrial city for many years but it has it's nice parts.

I caught the train to Helsinki the next day and spent the remainder of the day walking all over the city. It is pretty nice but not as nice as I thought it would be. I've seen all the major sights. Plus a trip out to Suomenlinna Fortress which is a great spot.

I am now in Turku which is a really nice town straddling a river that leads out to the Gulf of Bothina. The Castle near the harbour is really interesting. Somehow I ended up going through without realising that you need to pay,
Tampere 2Tampere 2Tampere 2

The city of the Textile Industry
oops! The Cathedral is nice aswell but the inside is a horrible grey cement look... awful

That's about it, sorry for the short length of this blog but time is of the essence. I'm cruising to Stockholm, Sweden tomorrow night so I am really looking foreward to that.

So I have been proven wrong, there are no ex-soviet buildings in Finland. There is no need to send me more messeges and mail!

Untill then, PEACE! CAMO


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Local fishermanLocal fisherman
Local fisherman

I personally wouldn't be fishing in those waters but oh well
Helsinki HarbourHelsinki Harbour
Helsinki Harbour

Looking down from the park
TikankonttiTikankontti
Tikankontti

(Lutheran Cathedral)
Sand CastleSand Castle
Sand Castle

There are a few of these just across from my hostel in Turku
Relaxing in the parkRelaxing in the park
Relaxing in the park

Turku is big on thier parks


26th July 2006

Shortest Blog EVER !!!!
Mate, what are you doing ? It only took me a min to read this. When I saw u had a new blog, I brewed a cuppa and sat down for a half hour read :> How much is the internet ?? how much the hostels costin ya. We want pictures alright.... :> See u in 6 months mate. Rohan
26th July 2006

Hi Cam you are again in another part of the world your passport would have a lot of stamps in it now ???? only 5 weeks to go and we will catch up in UK Looking forward to that Love Dad
26th July 2006

don't worry Cam. Dad will bring plenty of $$ with him! Photos show a few trees around but can't see any grass (not the stuff you puff on)
29th July 2006

??
"There are a lot of ex-soviet buildings and large public spaces typical of the soviet era". In Finland? Hmm..
1st August 2006

No ex-soviet buildings and things in Finland
Finland was under Russian rule during 1800 and declared its independence on 6. December in 1917. Finland has never any part of the Soviet Union, so therefore we do not have any ex-soviet stuff here. We have built all the ugly stuff ourselves!! The "Soviet-inspired" churches might be orthodox, at least one in the pictures (Uspenski Cathedral with the golden globes).

Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 28; qc: 146; dbt: 0.1377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb