Finland


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland
April 13th 2008
Published: April 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

These pictures are from three different trips to Finland (about 8 weeks total) in 2007. If you like the outdoors then I can't think of a place on Earth that is better. The whole country is one big forest with many, many lakes spread throughout. It is a runner's and hiker's dream with trails everywhere! Most of the pictures to follow are from central and eastern Finland along with some pics around Helsinki.

Helsinki was an interesting city to visit. I was especially excited to see the Olympic Stadium and statue of the great Paavo Nurmi (namesake of my dog). I had a good laugh after "racing" Lasse Viren in a virtual 200 in the Olympic museum next to the Stadium. I would recommend a walk around downtown just to see the various architecture and historic buildings. The university library is very cool inside.

Porvoo just to the northeast of Helsinki is a very nice historic town, home of Finland's national poet Runeberg. It was here that I got my first taste of Runeberg cake (yummy). In Jyvaskyla, where I spent most of my time during the three trips, it was amazing to see how active people were even in winter with piles of snow everywhere. People of all ages were walking, running, skating, and skiing into the night. I loved being in this atmosphere of being active in nature and it being such an integral part of the culture. The university buildings down on the lake in Jyvaskyla are a striking sight. And, the lake is full of ice skaters going in a large circular route. The setting is one of the best, if not the best, settings I've seen for a campus. Also, there is evidence of designs by Alvar Alto around--one of the greatest designers in history who made his home here.

I quickly learned that a great Finnish tradition is to take hikes into the woods and grill sausages. Most trails are outfitted with well-supplied and maintained cooking shelters complete with wood. So, in the winter you carry in a hot drink in a thermos and grill sausages and Karelian pies to warm you up. In the summer, it's much of the same thing except I carried cold sweet tea along instead :-). And, I also preferred to finish off the meal with my own version of s'mores. We found endless hikes within the area around Jyvaskyla and I must say that this tradition is one thing that I miss most about Finland. Having access to nature like that really increases the quality of life for the Finns--and they take advantage of it.

In the summer the woods are covered with blueberries! If you happen to be there in July go picking--and then find someone who makes blueberry pie!

Finland is something of secret that I hope remains that way. It is a little off the beaten path, the weather can be daunting, and it is definitely not on the radar of the Disney World types (thank goodness) but it provides a richness in terms of nature combined with a society that is highly educated and vested in what they have. I look forward to return visits and fresh air that awaits me . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 88, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



16th July 2010

Great pictures
Hi Paavo, Luckily ou have found some of the nicest places in Finland.. I live in North Carelia and it is my scenery of soul. Those paths in forests, swimming in lakes, sitting by the "nuotio" amd grilling sausages. Thanks for sharing them amongs others. Tuula
8th October 2010

i agree
Hi Tuula, I don't check my comments very often on here and just noticed yours. Wow, you live in a beautiful place. I just returned again from Finland a couple of weeks ago but was only in Jyvaskyla. I have many more pics of Finland that I need to add. I would love to go up through Lapland sometime . . . moi, moi John

Tot: 0.687s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 25; qc: 125; dbt: 0.1421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb