A Family Trip to Helsinki


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
June 26th 2013
Published: June 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Helsinki


StockmannStockmannStockmann

From: /kallu
After watching many reports of Finland on TV, I decided to make a weekend trip to Helsinki with my husband and my 7 year-old son.

The popular believe that polar bears are walking all around the city and it is always cold, could not be more wrong! This idea certainly was born in the old times, when TV was not available for everybody. But of course, I wanted to visit Finland during early summer, when there is no night.

When we landed in Helsinki, the sun was shining and the birds were singing, even if it was only 4 am! Then I could see with my own eyes that the nightless summer was true.

We were going to spend a week in Helsinki, so we had time to make plans for each family member. I am a businesswoman, and unfortunately even on my holidays I have to be available to work if necessary. My boss may contact me at anytime for any important meeting or video-conference.

Finland is well known for its high-class telecommunication system. So it wasn’t difficult to find wi-fi areas all over the city.The hotel staff also recommended me a business centre only 10 minutes
LinnanmäkLinnanmäkLinnanmäk

From: /jumilla
walk from my hotel. Just what I needed in case of an urgent call from my boss.

But of course I also had time to go do some shopping to Stockmann, the most exclusive store in Finland. My poor credit card!!!

My son was excited to visit Korkeasaari, the biggest zoo in Finland. He is an animal lover. There we spent five hours enjoying a lovely sunny day and our son´s happy face. But we still had one more surprise for him. One afternoon we went to Linnanmäki, a famous amusement park in the heart of Helsinki. There, we all had a good time.



Now that we are back home I can just say that Helsinki has something for everybody. A nice city not to miss!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb