Birthday Buddies!


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
April 4th 2007
Published: April 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Birthday DrinksBirthday DrinksBirthday Drinks

in the Rockin' Library
Hellooo out there! Sorry for the delay in posting but I've been busy busy with my friends from Canada who came to visit. It was so awesome for them to come from all corners of Europe to help me celebrate my birthday. Morgan came from Switzerland after his semester finished before returning to Canada. Kristine was (is) on Easter holidays from school in England, and Richard was on Easter break from work in Ireland. I don't have too many pictures, I was too busy doing school work, organizing events, and having fun. The four of us squeezed into my tiny room at night, wall to wall like sardines for three nights. It's a good thing we all get along so well.

The first day they were here we went to my campus for a quick tour and lunch, then into Helsinki for some sightseeing. That evening I had a Canadian themed party planned at my school for my classmates. I had made butter tarts ahead of time and M, R, and K helped me prepare smoked salmon, and poutine, (and unCanadian but very tasty guacamole). Everyone enjoyed the food and music so the party was a success!

The
K doing some light readingK doing some light readingK doing some light reading

in the Rockin' Library
second day I had to be in school so I sent M,R, and K to the Alvar Aalto home and studio for the day and met up with them in the evening in Helsinki for dinner. This happened to be my birthday so before I arrived they did some plotting and planning and arranged dinner at a chinese restaurant. They even prearranged an amazing raspberry covered cake to be served for desert. Yummm. Thanks guys! Afterwards we went for some drinks at the bar Belge which has a room upstairs appropriately named the Rockin' Library. When we were adequately prepared we headed to a karaoke bar to make our own entertainment. We sang a few songs, but were overshadowed by the Finnish superstar karoake singers who stole the show. Despite their lack of enthusiasm for our lousy rendition of Enter Sandman we had a good time.

The third and last day of their whirlwind tour we went mainly to Suomenlinna castle where we froze our buns off and boarded the ferry at the last minute after getting separated. Morgan and Richard were intrigued by all the nooks and crannies and stone walls while Kristine and I were more interested
Me and RichardMe and RichardMe and Richard

in the Rockin' Library
in getting to a warm cafe for some hot drinks. We made it onto the ferry then onto the bus to the airport.

Off again, this time to the Netherlands via Dusseldorf.... more in my next post so stay tuned!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Morgan and his puffy coatMorgan and his puffy coat
Morgan and his puffy coat

checking out Suomenlinna Castle
The original green roofThe original green roof
The original green roof

Suomenlinna Castle
Fooling aroundFooling around
Fooling around

Suomenlinna Castle
The gang in HelsinkiThe gang in Helsinki
The gang in Helsinki

waiting for the plane
In flightIn flight
In flight

I guess not many people fly from Helsinki to Amsterdam... lots of leg room!


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb