Heading to Helsinki


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Ostrobothnia » Vaasa
June 8th 2007
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bergen High StreetBergen High StreetBergen High Street

Old wooden shop fronts.
Hi everyone.

Thought I would take some time out of my travelling (as the temperature outside is scorching... it was 34 degrees C in the van this morning at 8.00am!) and write you all an update. Hopefully I can get some photos uploaded also.

From Tromso I headed further North on the way to Nordkapp. The first stop was Hammerfest where the van required a little bit more TLC. After picking up my new water temperature sensor I noticed that the front wheels were virtually bear! It looked like the tracking was out. After taking it to a new tire stockist and replacing the 2 front tyres (another 180 quid!) they recommended a visit back to the VW garage for re-alignment. Oooops... they inspected the front alignment and showed me a calapsed joint on the RHS upper bearing. As the only one in stock was in Oslo and was 170 quid, I asked for a scrap yard location. They had one about 40km down the road (probably the most northern scrap yard in the world!). They did not have the part and said they would phone me if they could source one. So I headed off to the
Bergen PanoramaBergen PanoramaBergen Panorama

Look out over Bergen. Had to catch a train to the top.
North Cape on a dodgey bearing to see the midnight sun.

The North Cape is like any other piece of land looking out to sea. Only it costs 40 quid to get to the last 100 yards and stand next to the metal globe marking the spot. Well worth it!

On the way back, fortune took a hand and I got a phone call from the scrappers who had found the part. What are the chances of that! A 1987 VW Transporter RH Front upper wheel bearing. As it was so late in the day, we agreed to meet the next morning at 9.00am when I changed the part in 2 hours.

I then headed for Finland and lake Inari. The scenery change is quite dramatic. Instead of the snow capped mountains, fjords and winding roads, Finland is quite flat, full of fir trees and lakes. I have had such a relaxing drive down through Finland. After another fair few km I crossed the artic circle once again going south. It was here that Santa Clause (the real one!) lives. He is a thoroughly nice bloke. He apologised for not returning my letters (as he needs a
Geiranger FjordGeiranger FjordGeiranger Fjord

Some of Fjords are just breathtaking
clear address written on the letter). I think I will type my next one this year. The Santa Clause post office is really good to see. There a so many letters from around the world.

Currently I am in a place called Rauma. This is an old 18th century town and is still intacked as it has not been destroyed by fire or war. The old cobbled streets and closely built wooden houses really are a tourist treat.

Over the next few days I am planning to head out to the Aland islands and then back round to Turku and Helsinki. I will then cross the Baltic to Estonia - Tallin before leaving the camper van for 2 months and embarking on the Trans Siberian Railway across Russia to Beijing. More travel Bloggs to follow.

Don't work too hard,
Dave.



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Climb to Geiranger FjordClimb to Geiranger Fjord
Climb to Geiranger Fjord

2 hour walk and climb. Should have took some ropes. Lucky it did not go too dark.
On top of the WorldOn top of the World
On top of the World

Geiranger Fjord 1000 ft drop.
Oslo 1Oslo 1
Oslo 1

Me, Kev and Alex
The OfficeThe Office
The Office

View from the van window.
WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

Anyone need a glass of water.
Fish dryingFish drying
Fish drying

Lofoten Islands - A town called 'A'
A town called AA town called A
A town called A

Lofoten Islands
Tromso 1Tromso 1
Tromso 1

Artic Catherdral
Tromso 2Tromso 2
Tromso 2

Artic Catherdral
Ferry 1Ferry 1
Ferry 1

Waiting for the Ferry.
Ferry 2Ferry 2
Ferry 2

Ferry coming in.
Ferry 3Ferry 3
Ferry 3

On the Ferry.
Ferry 4Ferry 4
Ferry 4

Ferry View
Nordkapp 1Nordkapp 1
Nordkapp 1

Holding up the World.
Nordkapp 2Nordkapp 2
Nordkapp 2

Metal Globe.
Nordkapp 3Nordkapp 3
Nordkapp 3

The sun will not set!
Nordkapp 4Nordkapp 4
Nordkapp 4

Looks like Big Red (The Office) has found some new friends.


8th June 2007

Sweet memories
Hi Dave, your pictures really bring back some great memories of my charity drive nearly 10 years ago. Nordkap was described to me as "a lot of fuss about less than you might think" but it has to be done!! I even got a picture of Santa driving my Freelander! keep on trucking. All the best, Dom.

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb