Estonia


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Tallinn
June 18th 2006
Published: June 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

111

The faces of Estonia.
Hello everybody,
It was the weekend before I left for Russia, so I took the ferry across the Gulf of Finland to Estonia. It is one of the countries under Soviet domination for so many years. They are proud of their independance.

I arrived on a Friday afternoon. In the other countries I found that booking a hotel in advance didn't work. Most of them lie about the distance from the train station--a ten minute walk is more like 25 and I would pass lots of places on the way that would have been just fine. So I thought that a room wouldn't be a problem. I found out right away that there was a big festival going on--"Old Town Days." It is like the waterfront festival, but with more drinking. That is the good news--lots of activities and so on. The bad news is that there was nothing in accommodation. I was starting to panic--I couldn't get a ferry back until the next day--so I had a choice between a five star hotel at $300. or a youth hotel. Those who know me already know the decision I made. Actually the hostel wasn't that bad, especially for $20. a
222

The faces of Estonia.
night. They said the lower bunks were all taken leaving only upper bunks. One of the young guys saw the look of panic on face and offer to switch with me. I wore my money belt to bed and kept my fanny pack under the covers. I slept well considering all the snoring. Oh well, I wanted an adventure!
Bye for now,
Donna


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

33
3

The faces of Estonia.
44
4

The faces of Estonia.
55
5

There was a dogshow in Estonia and many of the dogs travelled on the ferry.
66
6

A Blue Great Dane.
77
7

This Newfoundland won lots of ribbons.
88
8

Remember what I said about Finns' drinking habits? Booze is a lot cheaper in Estonia, so many Finns go for the weekend and then stock up before returning home.


24th June 2006

A lesson I hope you learned
So you stayed in a youth hostel. Good for you. Next time though you might want to check the current events. Thw beer is an interesting shot but the dogs are beautiful. Selma
27th June 2006

Plan Ahead...
I can't believe that you of all people - the one who covers every detail when planning anything - decided to 'wing it' on accommodations! Glad you had a thoughtful 'bunk partner' who let you have the bottom. I bet you enjoyed the dog show,eh. Take care and be sure to call ahead next time!!! Marg

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb