Crazy Things People Do for Love


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
April 21st 2013
Published: May 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Little MermaidLittle MermaidLittle Mermaid

She should've join Bachelorette TV show instead of killing herself
“So… why would Little Mermaid killed herself? Why didn't she just… find another guy?” my husband asked. Errr, I don’t know. Because she was trying to proof that her love was true? I was trying to explain the Little Mermaid story to my husband; while struggling to take tourist-less picture of the statue (which is difficult considering the hordes of people that came out of tour buses). From what I can remember, sold her voice & soul to the evil witch; then died as sea foam once she found out her love was not returned by the prince. You know, for children’s story – that’s pretty raw emotion. I remember crying when I first read Little Mermaid (I hope you’re happy HC Andersen – you made a little girl cried).

For a famous statue – it’s kinda small and not that intricate. Perhaps just normal human size. It’s just one of those touristy things you visited simply because it’s famous. Not everyone is a fan (I heard it was beheaded twice). It’s located quite far from other main tourist attractions. We took train up to Osterport; then walk there. It’s another sunny breezy day. Ah, I just love a sunny day in Scandinavia. Why? Because even though the sun is bright, the air is still cool. In Singapore you would be swimming in your own sweat already.

My husband and I walked along the sea side while munching our bread rolls. Although the water looks mirky, but you can still see the bottom. Tulips dotted the here and there. Surprisingly there’s even an old windmill. For a moment I forgot which country I am at right now. Soon enough, we ended up near Churchill’s park. There’s this gorgeous Albanian church with cow statues (it’s really pretty although not famous!). Near there – the blue eyed building belongs to some logistics company power house.

We were trying to maximize our Copenhagen Card & drop by the Design museum but it’s closed although already entering the opening hour. I think because hardly any tourist visited it – they kinda just… not open? I don’t know. Amalienborg palace was open though. Again, they are not allowing my camera bag and ask for extra 20 DKK if I want to take pictures. So my husband & I just take turns. One thing that catches my eyes is the polar bear rug. Looks real.

When we went outside – suddenly it’s really crowded. Apparently we were just in time for the changing of the guards. I was excited because I missed it when I was in London. So many people try to take pictures and videos – it’s just not funny. But after few minutes, well, it’s…. kinda boring. Procession kinda long too. We ended up leaving before they finished and jet off the Marmokirken (Marble Church) & the Russian Orthodox Church. Yes, somehow for a muslim, I visited church quite a lot ha ha…. We didn’t enter the Russian Orthodox – but the gold union dome was interesting. The Marmokirken is quite similar to other domes I’ve seen before – they also demand silent (which makes sense). You can actually climb to the top but we were pressed against time.

After a loooooong walk, we arrived back to Nyhavn. Actually we were here yesterday but it’s still fun to hang around and take some additional pictures (especially because the sky is even bluer today). Nyhavn isn’t our main destination for today; we were just passing by on our way to Round Tower. It must’ve been the easiest tower climb ever.
View from Round TowerView from Round TowerView from Round Tower

They said on the far side, that's Sweden
They used ramps instead of stairs! Brilliant! The last 50 steps or so is stairs but manageable. The view… Well… They said you can see Sweden from there. I personally think the view from Vor Frelselskirke would’ve been nicer as it was closer to the canals (didn’t have enough time to go there).

From there we dropped by Copenhagen Uni and Paludan Café (which somehow is very challenging to find). I almost gave up and hang out in a colorful small square that only filled with locals. But we found that cafe last minute though. The café was founded in 1895. The fact that they lasted over 100 years – must mean they did something right. Unfortunately I couldn’t hang out there because we have a flight to catch to Amsterdam. There was no time to take proper lunch so we just munch our food on the train on the way to the airport with some random things we bought at the Netto supermarket.

The Norwegian flight was on time (and it was discounted too). We got there on time. I thought I wouldn’t be able to find stamps in Denmark but unexpectedly found it at the airport.
A Nice Hidden SquareA Nice Hidden SquareA Nice Hidden Square

Forgot the name, but it was very colorful and filled with locals only. Guitars played in the middle. Just very cool to hang out there.
I then drained my coins to send a second postcard for M as well. And I thought – all is good from then on. But OMG, after arriving in Holland I just knew Dutch ticket machines are just so…. STUPID! Why? Well, first of all – they ONLY TAKE COINS; they can’t take paper notes. Some accept credit and debit cards – but it must be Dutch cards. Alternatively – you can queue at the customer service where they will charge you 0.5 euro more! Not to mention the queue is super long. After going back and forth like a headless chicken (trying different cards, trying different machines, trying to break my paper notes to coins) – I surrender and queue at the customer service. After a long queue – I realized the very nice gentleman over the counter gave me 1 ticket 2nd class instead of 2 tickets 2nd class! I already mention what I want with body signals btw in case my English is not understandable. What else do you need??? Gah. And during that day, the train from Amsterdam Schipol to Sloterdijk station is under maintenance so you’ll have to take bus (but pay train fare). What??? Anyway; apparently the day continues to be “interesting” (which is the term that you used in the office politics to indicate something sucks) as our dear hotel receptionist changed our room 3 times. For a developed country – the Netherlands are quite… interesting. Interesting indeed.

My husband then grinned. “Well honey, as “interesting” as they are – they ruled Indonesia for 250 years. So who’s the stupid one?” Well, he got a point. For now, I just want my beauty sleep.

More of my Denmark pictures can be found HERE.

Still can't get enough of my pictures?? See more of it HERE for pictures from other countries too. Enjoy!

Advertisement



20th May 2013
Albanian Greek Church Near Churchill's Park

Really nicely taken photo
I love this photo very much! Would love to visit Churchill's Park in future :)
20th May 2013
Albanian Greek Church Near Churchill's Park

yup, it's pretty isn't it :)
21st May 2013

Fantastic!
Those pictures are fantastic and I love this article :) gonewithlove.altervista.org

Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 24; qc: 139; dbt: 0.1207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb