“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.” ― Virginia Woolf


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
March 28th 2012
Published: June 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Obsession with food. Why?

I think it's because its one of the simplest pleasures in life where we can use all of our senses. We taste, we admire by sight, we touch to bring that morsel of food to our mouth, we smell delight or disgust. We also hear; whether it be silence to allow our other senses take pleasure, or to appreciate our company in conversation over a meal.

When I was given the opportunity to dine at Noma in Denmark, I was truly excited!! I googled and found out that Noma was considered the top World restaurant for 2011. Wow, and little me had an opportunity to go !!!

Sight was definately the sense that had priority at this establishment in Noma; it was more like masterpieces of scaled-down art. Whether it be from the appetizer that looked like an arrangement of flowers to a course that came in a cookie tin can, it was spectacular and different.

I enjoyed the silence, the small chit chat with my meal companion and the occassional murmurs, or "oohing" over a dish. The establishment had very limited sitting even for lunch. To be quite honest, in general I
AMAZINGAMAZINGAMAZING

LOVE seafood. Biggest oyster I ever ate in my life...
believe Europeans can talk at least an octave lower than the American culture and still enjoy each other's company, or silence.

Culture and food does go hand in hand, tho I think even for Copenhagen - Noma's meal transcended a set culture and became a universal language of art.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

foliage....foliage....
foliage....

actual ingredients from a forest...


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb