Wintertimes


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Birkerød
February 3rd 2010
Published: February 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ice skating!Ice skating!Ice skating!

DIS took full-year students ice skating near Nyhavn. What a creative way to use a parking lot near the harbor.
It's the start of a new semester, and that means new faces, new places, and new routines, even in Denmark. There's a lot to get used to (again) and lots of new input. Sometimes is feels as if there is so much going on that it's a challenge to process and reflect and make sense of it all.

Half of my classes are interesting, and the other half are, unfortunately and so far, dull. In fact right now I should be reading an article for my economics class, but I'm obviously using my time in other less-productive but more-interesting ways.

It started snowing again. The sidewalks and streets are all covered in a slippery gray mush - it's a wonder I haven't yet fallen. However, the sun was out in full force last Thursday! A friend and I followed the sunshine down to the ice-covered harbor, and sat and enjoyed the clear blue sky and the warm friendly sun until the wind picked up and chased us indoors to a cozy little cafe.

But it doesn't stop there! More snow! It just keeps falling! The Danish world is covered in a blanket of white. On the agenda for
WhiteWhiteWhite

The big snowstorm had barely begun when I left school.
today (maybe): sledding in Fredericksberg Garden. We'll see how motivated we are to get all the way down there. Last night everyone was freaking out about the snow, saying trains and buses and the like would be delayed. The airport is a mess, from what I've heard on the radio. I have overheard the USers judging the Danes for worrying, but I have noticed a few things:
• there are still Danes out riding their bikes in this weather
• they have smaller tractors to plow the bike lanes
• most Danes aren't afraid to wear snow pants over their regular pants, or even over a skirt
So maybe they are not used to this ungodly amount of snow, but they sure as hell aren't shying away from it.

Living with an eight-year old and a ten-year old who cry almost everyday has taught me one thing: I have little to no maternal instinct at this point in my life. I mean, they are cute, but even that cannot redeem how annoying they can sometimes be. I know it's not their fault - they're just children, and it's in their nature to be needy, right? But sometimes I feel up to my eyeballs in children, and sometimes it's nice to escape.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb