Food!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic
March 25th 2008
Published: April 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

These are some of the different meals I have consumed so far in Prague. These are only a selection of the assortment. There are also pictures of food from Spring Break 2008 visit to Poland to see my good friend Katherine. I wonder what I will have for dinner tonight?


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Traditional Czech Din Din. Traditional Czech Din Din.
Traditional Czech Din Din.

Knedliky (dubplings) and meat and cabbage. I don't really care for cabbage.
Delicious pasta and chicken and broccoli.Delicious pasta and chicken and broccoli.
Delicious pasta and chicken and broccoli.

Home made by host parents- it was delicious and had cheese and broccoli and cheese and ham i believe.
fish soup. yum.fish soup. yum.
fish soup. yum.

This was made by my host father- it was fish soup with crunchy breadcrumbs served on our fake Christmas lunch!
Chicken and Potatoes.Chicken and Potatoes.
Chicken and Potatoes.

My host father made me this tonight. I had two pieces of chicken with some ranch dressing and ketchup and potatoes.
chicken and potaters. chicken and potaters.
chicken and potaters.

Home made food- chicken was delicious and potatoes were great and I actually eat brussel sprouts now.
Carp and Potato salad- a mini- christmas.Carp and Potato salad- a mini- christmas.
Carp and Potato salad- a mini- christmas.

This potato salad was one of my favorite dishes so far- it had carrots, pickles, eggs and potatoes obviously. It was delicious!
Salmon and potatoes.Salmon and potatoes.
Salmon and potatoes.

My host mother made this delicious meal- i mashed up the potatoes and ate them with some salt and butter.
Sausages-Sausages-
Sausages-

roasted in the backyard fire. I was not sure when it was cooked properly- but my host father reassured me. it was really really tasty, especially with ketchup.
meat and potatoes. meat and potatoes.
meat and potatoes.

host father's creation. The meat was quite good- a few pieces of fat which I gave to Freddy, and the potatoes were topped with bacon-like meat and pork fat I think. An authentic Czech meal.
easter lunch. easter lunch.
easter lunch.

i ate this- duck and spinach and i loved it! and dumplings. It tastes great to put the spinach on top of the dumplings.
Apple pancake things. Apple pancake things.
Apple pancake things.

Home made by my host father with left over apples. They have a lot of apples which he chops up for apple strudel.
Bubuvka.Bubuvka.
Bubuvka.

There are no words to describe this warm, right out of the oven, goodness that is my host father's bubuvka. I had it with a nice glass of milk and some whipped cream. Absolutely amazing, and one of my favorite things in Prague.
Bubuvka.Bubuvka.
Bubuvka.

home made by my host father- There are many different kinds of bubuvka. this is a close up of the chocolate/cinnamon kind with red wine in the mixture. And whipped cream was added to the surrounding part of the cake. soaked in milk, this is phenomenal. Sometimes I take the cake, a bowl, and milk- add the three together, and then eat it like cereal. ohhhh boyyy.
sweet cheese pastry. sweet cheese pastry.
sweet cheese pastry.

host mother made. This was a while ago and was eaten quickly. It was delicious with sweet ricotta cheese i think.
pudding with cream. pudding with cream.
pudding with cream.

Host father made this pudding that was absolutely delicious with some whipped cream. I guess I would say it was vanilla-ish deliciou-ish flavored.
Alternate view of pudding. Alternate view of pudding.
Alternate view of pudding.

the title says it all.
Sweet Perogies. Sweet Perogies.
Sweet Perogies.

Home made by my friend Katt's family friend- they were sweet perogies sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar on top and sweet cheese in the middle. Just thinking about this makes me crave them immediately!


Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb