Scavenger Hunt for Information


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
October 8th 2009
Published: October 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Prauge Train StationPrauge Train StationPrauge Train Station

This is the old section, but showed how ornate it used to be.
Today was a day trip to Kutna Hora, a small town featured on Rick Steves' show. I know, I really planned this whole trip around his guidebooks and videos. I took the Metro, changing trains once, and was at the Main Train Station without a problem. Through some trial and error I was able to find where tickets were sold and easily bought a round trip to Kutna Hora. I have to say that it is so different for me to not know what is going on, and really not be able to ask. The train stops weren't called out and to make matters more interesting, we passed most of the stops along the way. I had to trust in myself that I was on the right train and we just weren't stopping at those stops. This did turn out to be the case. It was quite easy to see my stop. Luckily 2 ladies that I was talking to last night had been to this town the day prior and had made a remark that they had to take a small one car train the rest of the way into town. Wow am I glad they said that. I walked
Plague MonumentPlague MonumentPlague Monument

After the trouble I went through to find this, I am putting a picture up.
up the stairs and there it was, a little red train car. Boom, I was on and off we went.

Once at the real station, I walked, hoping I was heading the right direction. I did see a sign with a rough map of the area and a "You Are Here" arrow. As I walked, I followed small signs pointing towards the TI (travelers information.) These signs were rather few and far between, so it was like the title suggests, a scavenger hunt. And yes, I spent quite a bit of time walking in the wrong direction mumbling and talking to myself. Finally with the help of a nice lady in a museum, I found the TI. The worker spoke English and gave me a map, sending me out on my own again. More walking, more mumbling, more talking to myself as I deciphered the map. All I will say is that if I was to be the hero in a mystery book, I would need a whole heck of a lot more clues and information than I had today. But yes, I finally found the Plague Monument. Score one for Brendan. Next, I worked my way to the
Yes, for RealYes, for RealYes, for Real

See, I wasn't making this up. I have the brochure to prove it too.
bus station and was able to understand that I needed bus 1B to take me to the bone church. When it came, I just put money in my hand and let the driver take what the fare was. Traveling out of the major cities, it is much more difficult to find someone who speaks English. I do my hand gestures and try very hard to communicate, but I struggle. Luckily I don't have a bad attitude and am friendly enough that I have never had a problem. Everyone is very nice even if we can figure each other out. Being nice is such a key in all of this.

I guessed at where to get off the bus and guessed right. My first adventure was a Philip Morris Exhibition of tobacco. Yup, it was a whole museum dedicated to tobacco and cigarettes. I had to go in just to say I did. I never understood just how good tobacco and cigarettes were until today- oh wait, I still don't. Leaving there, I went to the Bone church. I don't have the guide book with me for the real name, so I will call it just what it is. It
Bone ChurchBone ChurchBone Church

One of 4 sets of these
is a very old church filled with bones. There is a chandelier made from every one of the bones in a human body. There are skulls and bones arranged in massive piles. You need to see the pictures to really understand this. The skulls that were arranged on candle holders were probably my favorite. From the information sheet, this is the resting place of over 40,000 people.

From there I went and toured another cathedral. Then, I took the bus back to the station, walked towards the train station. Stopped to have some pizza rolls from a bakery. Again, we just didn't communicate. She understood when I pointed to the rolls, but was saying what sounded like "swine" Heck yeah, throw some bacon on there I thought. After I paid and was standing outside eating, I realized she probably thought I was German and was saying the German word for 2, because that is how many I ended up buying. It made me smile. Was a really nice experience. And that is what today was really about. I just enjoyed being out and about in the Czech Republic.

The train ride back was again and adventure in language.
Candle HoldersCandle HoldersCandle Holders

The candles go on the spikes in front of the skulls
Took the little red train, another train and then had to change to a 3rd train. We were all on the platform when an announcement came over the speaker. Everyone took off in a mass leaving myself alone. Hmm, wonder what that was about. Finally found the right platform and make it back to the hotel easily enough.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Bone ChandeleirBone Chandeleir
Bone Chandeleir

Made up using every bone in the human body.
Inside the cathedral Inside the cathedral
Inside the cathedral

Part of the do it yourself tour had us walk through the rafters to a view of the whole church.
Spiral StairwaySpiral Stairway
Spiral Stairway

Loved this stairway.
Just a nice shotJust a nice shot
Just a nice shot

This was a church I passed while heading to the train station. Liked this picture a lot, so put it up here.
Little Red TrainLittle Red Train
Little Red Train

Clang clang clang goes the trolley.......


9th October 2009

Creepy bones
It looked like a great day....except the bone church. those bones just looked creepy to me. what was the reason for all those bones. you didn't buy any souvenirs there, did you?
9th October 2009

Them Bones Them Bones.....
I will have to do some more research on why they put the bones there, but from what I understand it was a fairly common practice. It symbolizes that the church is made up of both the living and the dead I think. And no, I didn't buy any souvenirs. I thought very hard about a skull magnet, but decided it just wasn't the look I needed. Did you want a skull? Femur? Arm Bone? I could swing by and do some shopping, lol
9th October 2009

What a cool church? Not sure if that is the right word...but WOW!! Very Interesting!! Thanks for sharing. I love this site. What an awesome place to journal your travels.
9th October 2009

Thanks
Thanks Danielle, I agree. Wow may not be the right word, but it sure works. I love this site. Have read about the places I am going to be. You can probably find a lot about Japan too. See what people are doing and seeing over there.
15th October 2009

Glad you found your way home!
You have this adventurous side that I really admire. I am not so sure I could go where you are going. Thanks for doing it for me and taking me along for the ride. The bones are a bit creepy and cool at the same time. Glad you are having fun! The fact that you are nice and it helps doesn't surprise me at all!!! Love you!

Tot: 0.351s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 44; qc: 161; dbt: 0.2332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb