Timewarp


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
November 23rd 2006
Published: November 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've been sitting on my contentedly lazy ass in Prague for the last two weeks. Time has become a very strange concept, daylight only lasts from around 8:00-4:30 leaving 15h of darkness. I wake at 9am, enjoy the light till 4pm, sleep till 8pm, enjoy the nighttill 4am, then sleep till 9am.. It's two days in one!

As Lonely planet backpackers have come and gone ("so you uh just on a tour of Europe?") a common question added to the list of standard icebreakers has become "so is there enough to see here for that long?" I think the answer's no. I haven't really done any sightseeing since the girls left.. The city has an amazing vibe about it, it's full of tourists - but the people who live and work here take real pride in it. I think that's the key. It's a true cosmopolitan city, I've met four times as many European ex-pats living here as Czechs. But (and this may not be terribly culturally correct) that add's to the buzz, it's way more fun partying with ex-pats (or travellers) in english amidst Czechs than lost in a crowd of strangers.

Living is cheap, the beer (and Becharovska) is great, party supplies are plentiful, and there are so many bars and clubs hidden just far enough out of the way to elude the UK stag party goers. And for some reason (and this is weird) there's heaps of model shops and outdoors stores - the perfect toy shopping 😊

Sorry there aren't many photos this time, but along with the tourists come the pickpockets - I've known two people to lose wallets, and one bag complete with laptop. It's way easier and less stressful to stay under the radar so to speak. I'm on my way to Poland now to meet up with a geologist I met in Russia. She lives in Wroclaw - it's a bit off the beaten track and I have to take two local buses and walk an hour accross the border to get there. Really excited about moving again - though I note that none of you could come up with any crazy ideas.. i'll do my best 😊

Take care, the gods assure me summer will come soon - and with all these churches under my belt I reckon I must have the inside word on at least that 😉

K.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Getting a little arty on yo' assesGetting a little arty on yo' asses
Getting a little arty on yo' asses

Old town Prague from accross the river


26th November 2006

Improvement
I'm sure that first photo is an improvement Kerry. Good look!
28th November 2006

What's your story?
I've now read almost all of your blog entries and besides being jealous I'm also curious about how you manage to travel for months at a time. Did you work for a few years and save up your money and then quit to travel or are you "independently wealthy" so to speak? How do you decide where to go and when to leave your current location. It seems like you're able to just fly by the seat of your pants. Thanks for the entertainment and keep us up to date! Cheers
29th November 2006

It's not so hard..
Thanks. Um.. story? A month or so before Christmas I was looking ahead to another year of work.. it wasn't looking like so much fun, so I decided to flag it. I stopped eating, drinking, and spending for several months, sold a few non-essentials and bought a ticket for Mongolia. I've probably spent around 2500euro to date.. Maybe not as much as you'd think (guys I know back home easily spend that on shiny wheels for their car). As for figuring out where to go next, I'm heading west to find a job in the UK. I generally just take things as they come, if somewhere looks unusual and there's a chance i'll meet someone who doesn't speak english - I'll give it a go :) You should give it a go, and send me a link to your blog :) Careful though, it's addictive.. and as cash dwindles, the limit on my credit card is looking more and more appealing :/

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb