Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
November 17th 2013
Published: November 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I. LOVE. PRAGUE. I can't wait to go back to Prague. Prague is like a little clean Budapest. Apparently it's because instead of trying to fight in any wars, they just gave into anyone who has ever tried to take them over. Go Prague.

Things Darcy and I did in Prague:

1. WE MADE IT WITH NO MAJOR DISASTERS. FIRST TIME. YES.

2. 7 hour train rides suck, but trains are definitely my favorite way to travel. No bumps, you're able to stand up and stretch, and it's logical unlike planes which are way to heavy to be in the sky (I know blah blah science. I just still don't get it).

3. Our train stopped a bunch, but they never announced any of the stops and Darcy and I were wondering the whole time how anyone knows when to get off the train??? Half the time we didn't even know what country we were in.

4. Meeting people in hostels is the best. We met these two Spanish girls who study in Poland and informed us that if we want to learn Spanish, we should go to Poland.

5. The 5 story club is just that. Huge, messy, 5 stories. Really fun experience, don't think I could do it that often. Also, EVERYONE was from Amsterdam.

6. The castles are all amazing, the Lennon wall is really cool, the river is gorgeous. Unfortunately, you have to pay to see everything. Bummer.

7. Know what you're going to get yourself into when you decide to party with a football team of guys from Vienna in a hostel room. They're rowdy alcoholics.

8. BEER IN PRAGUE IS AWESOME.

8.5. We went to a beer hall the second night and closed it down. Stout and honey wine. So awesome. There was a really drunk woman in her 50s sitting across from us who kept dancing. It was great.

9. It gets really cold. In November. Duh.

10. When you order food, you may or may not get what you ordered. I ordered a pork cutlet, which I am pretty sure was chicken. I also ordered eggs in a glass (that's how it was on the menu) and the waitress was confused and I ended up getting 3 cut up softboiled eggs in a glass. Which was perfect.

11. People watching in Old Town Square in the morning is the best. Segways everywhere. Lost Asians.

12. The people who do the whole "living statue" thing suck at it. The statues moved the whole time and took smoke breaks every 10 minutes. Plus they kept winking at us.

13. Mulled wine cures all things. Hangovers, cold, thirst. You name it, mulled wine is there for you.

But seriously. I love Prague. I cannot wait to go back in May with Mom and Leigh!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb