Prague ... A Day With Friends ... And Thinking About Friends


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
July 23rd 2013
Published: July 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I would like to start today's blog with a big shout out to our friend Tayler McCann (is he a friend or has he logged enough time to be considered part of the family? ... well he is at least an honorary member of the Nikolai Family). Tayler joined the US Marine Corp and he leaves for basic training on Monday. God Speed Tayler! Semper Fi!

Its another hot day in Prague, and I witnessed yet one more example of how we are all the same. A Japanese mother attempting to get a photo of her three rambunkcious (I believe I spelled that wrong) teens in front of the Charles Bridge. One does not need to speak Japanese to understand a mother telling her children to "stop fooling around!"

As an aside ... and this really has nothing to do with anything ... but ... I am writing today's blog in a hotel bar in Budapest, Hungary. Men (I have not seen a women yet) keep walking through the bar dressed in garish suits. I am quite confident they are not fashion choices, but I have no idea what is going on. I am going to figure it out and I will let you know by the end of this blog.

So ... back to the blog ... I met up with my friend Jon Anderson today. Jon's wife Lori is an educator and she is presenting at an International Nursing Conference here in Prague. While Lori worked, Jon met me for some beer and sightseeing.

Jon and I went to see the Prague Opera House (the location of the first performance of Mozart's "Don Giovanni"). We then stopped by a public market before strolling across the Charles Bridge to the East (or Castle) side of the river. Yep ... there is a Castle ... a big one!

We continued to photograph the beautifully detailed buildings that make this town famous (you sorta can't avoid them). We also visited some crazy toy stores. Prague is known for hand-made toys (especially marionettes). And, of course, we drank some good Czech beer.

Ok ... I have the story on the guys in the garish suits, but honestly it is worth a blog of its own, so you will have to wait. Oh ... and by the way ... I have photos.

JJF


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

KafkaKafka
Kafka

I am a Kafka fan (what does that say about me) so I took this photo.
JJF On Charles BridgeJJF On Charles Bridge
JJF On Charles Bridge

And you thought I was doing all of this from a motel room on the beltline.
President ObamaPresident Obama
President Obama

Who is pulling the strings?


26th July 2013

JJF, Tayler definately has become part of the family over the years. Thanks for the shout out to him. I will show it to him before he leaves.
26th July 2013

Tayler McCann
Ok ... That is a confirmation. Tayler is part of the family. Keep him in your thoughts and prayers.
26th July 2013

Pictures
Great pictures Jeff!! Except for the Julie Andrews moments in the mountains - Did you still get to sing "the hills are alive with the sound of music"?
26th July 2013

Julie Andrews
Tim ... I am fairly confident we don't want me singing anything, much less a iconic song by one of the great voices of the 20th century.
26th July 2013

Tim Nikolai's Photos
For you readers that do not know, Tim Nikolai is a very skilled photographer. I like to think I am pretty good too. What is fun is that we are interested in completely different things. Tim generally likes to compose photographs of things. I am much more interested in people. But at this point I am traveling on my own so mostly I am mostly composing pictures of things. WHICH TIM LIKES.
29th July 2013

Photos with people ....even some I know
Awesome that you connected with Jon. I am jealous!
30th July 2013

I'd like the red one please
Hey - there you are on the bridge! Looks like a fun town to traipse around. Those berries look scrumdelicious! Don't forget my scarf.

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb