Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
July 23rd 2013
Published: July 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I start today with good news. Grapes have returned to the markets of Europe. Much rejoicing ensued.

It is hot out. Really hot out. Apparently it has not been this hot in Prague since 1977.

I have been dividing my time between modest hostels and the occasional hotel. Luckily I chose to be in a hotel this week, with its much needed air conditioning. I am staying at the K+K Hotel Prague Old Town. Those of you who have followed my travels know I am a huge fan of the K+K Hotel Chain. The K+K Prague Old Town did not disappoint.

Today I ventured into the heat to see the sites. I really did nothing but walk all day. I visited the narrow streets and wide plazas of Old Town, walked the riverfront and the islands in the Danube, and crossed the Charles Bridge. With every corner I turned, there was something new and beautiful to see.

Most European cities have an "old" city center with historic buildings and grand plazas. In Prague the historic buildings and grand plazas go on .... and on ... and on ... and on ... block ... after block ... after block ... after block. It is astounding. And what is more remarkable is how well preserved and maintained these buildings are. They have all been substantially renovated on the inside, but the exterior facades remain intact. Building owners go out of their way to make their buildings bright, colorful and interesting. Prague is a truly beautiful city.

I am not going to write anymore, but I am going to post a load of photos. Pictures, as they say, speak a thousand words.

More maƱana.

JJF


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

HeladosHelados
Helados

Helados are necessary on hot summer days


26th July 2013

George
Jeff, what are they saying in Prague about Prince GAL? Have you bumped into any Justices? I hear the K+K is almost as nice as the Chesterton West. Keep updating us on the clubs.
26th July 2013

Prague and Baby
Matt, the folks here in Prague are reacting the same way everyone around the world is ... They are going crazy. Long Live King (ok ... Future King George). The clubs in Prague are great and I will be updating you all on the club scene over the next couple of days.
26th July 2013

Love to see the photos of Prague -- never been there ! K+K Hotel -- awesome ..
26th July 2013

Prague
Patrick, so great to hear from you. Prague should really go on your list. I truly have enjoyed my time here. The city itself is great, but also did some day trips that I will be blogging about. Hope the whole Finley Clan is well.
26th July 2013

No Triple X reference? For shame!
To be honest, I'm a little distraught. I was HOPING for a full-scale reenactment of the Charles Bridge boat chase featuring Vin Diesel in xXx, since you are certainly a dead ringer for that finest of actors. I recognized, though, that such a feat might be hard to pull off, and so I tempered my yearning for that event with realistic caution. But not even a casual shout out in the blog, to the seminal movie moment that defines the cinematography of the early 2000s? That, monseiur, is shocking. ;) The trip sounds amazing, but I'm looking forward to seeing you in Madtown one of these days!! Jed
26th July 2013

Vin Diesel
Jed my friend, an actor of Mr. Diesel's caliber would only be tarnished by a shout out from me. Plus, there will plenty of excitement and adventure coming up on in future blogs.
30th July 2013

Ice Cream Store
Beautiful buildings but my attention was drawn to the ice cream store. Just like shaved ice in Hawaii! I love that this blog has info on the country because to me it is all just Europe.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb