The Sun is out!!!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Olomouc Region » Olomouc
July 15th 2007
Published: July 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Sun is finally out! We have been here almost 4 weeks and until yesterday had only 4 days of sun. Friday was cold and rainy and yesterday we woke up to blue skies and warm temperatures. We have covered a lot of ground in the last several days. We spent a few days in Austria and then drove to Cesky Krumlov in the Czech republic for a few days and now we are in Olomouc still in the Czech Republic.

Austria remains for me one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. It is so clean and the colors are so vibrant. The sky is so blue, (the 15 minutes of it we saw in between storms) and the landscaping is so bright. I was disappointed we didn't spend more time in Salzburg as I feel there was a lot more to see and do and people to meet. Not to mention several untried chocolate tortes.

We went on the Sound of Music tour while there. Now...I love that movie...but I am hardly they type to sign up for schmaltzy pilgrimage stuff. Scott and I read that it was a great tour of the area and decided to give it a try. It was a fabulous tour of the area and while w hit up all the monuments to the movies...we got a great city tour and tour of the lake district outside the city. The lake district is beautiful. I can't even describe it. The boys also got to stop and take a luge ride on the tour. The rain stopped for a few minutes and they got to luge down an Austrian mountain. The next day on our way out of town we drove back to the luge and they did it again...twice. I did it too...what a blast.

We left Austria and went to Cesky Krumlov, in the Czech Republic. Scott and I went there last year and loved it. It is a darling medieval town with cobblestone streets and much better than euro prices. Well it is still a darling town but in July it was crowded. We were there in March and had the place to our selves....not so this time. The weather also didn't cooperate. Very cold and rainy. We had planned to go rafting but it was way too cold. No one was up for a wet rafting trip down the freezing river. The best thing however was we met a lovely couple from New Zealand who referred us to a villa in Tuscany half way between Florence and Sienna that we will spend 10 days at in August. The gave us pictures, told us how to make a reservation...we did and the place was a deal....especially for Italy in August.

We are now in a small Czech city called Olomouc. It is in the eastern part of the country...not really on the American tourist beat and path. It is very interesting....the effects of Communism are very real. While Prague and Cesky Krumlov have prettied themselves up for Western Tourists this is a city in transition. There is lots of graffiti and block apartment buildings mixed with middle ages monuments and churches that are in a state is restoration. No one speaks English here either which is the first we have seen so far. It is cool...I say as I admittedly was reluctant to come here. I am glad I did!

Yesterday we took the kids to the local water park. It was just like the Waterworld/Raging Waters of California. We had a blast. It equally fun to sit and watch the Czech people doing the water park stuff.....just like home. The bonus for all of us $8....the lunch...$4....It would have been $150 at home!

Today we leave for Krakow Poland. I never thought I would ever go to Poland! Should be interesting!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



15th July 2007

honey, are you getting comments? just back today from beunos aires. very tired. don't want to carry on if you're not getting comments. love the blog. ashley
20th July 2007

So lame
Dear friends and family- We are so lame. All of your treasured comments were piling up. I had no idea they were here or what to do. I even accused my dear friend Ashley of ignoring me. :) Dave told me I "had to do something." I had no idea what he was talking about. So...this morning while everyone was sleeping...I figured it out. I did it Dave. Please send more. We love you all. Keep reading...and writing back! We miss you!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb