Last days in Czech!


Advertisement
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Monday, Lenka had to go back to work so I had a nice rest day by myself. In the afternoon I tagged along for the daily dog walk, since I'd been sitting around doing nothing all day. We had a lovely stroll through the forest and 10km later we were on the home stretch walking along a tree lined roadway and were able to snack on some cherries straight from the tree.
Cherry trees are everywhere throughout the country and free to whoever wants to help themselves. And to think I paid half a fortune for a punnet of cherries in Prague. Also planted along the roadside were plum, pear and other fruit trees which were still to come into fruit. In season going for a walk is a variable fruit salad feast.

Tuesday, I caught the public bus into Opava centre. Luckily Lenka had advised me on how the bus ticketing worked as I would never have had a clue. You need to have correct change and as you enter the bus there is a machine where you drop in the coins and it dispenses a paper ticket. This had been explained to me and as I followed a
Smurf flavoured ice creamSmurf flavoured ice creamSmurf flavoured ice cream

obviously an abundance of Smurfs in Czech Rep.
fellow passenger on board and watched as they operated the machine I was confident as my turn came up. Knowing where to get off would be another story. Turned out it was not so difficult, it was obviously the destination of most of the buses occupants.

Opava is not very big so I just wandered around for a while stopping for a 'Smurf' flavoured ice cream which I chose due to the lovely shade of blue that it was. Enjoying it I tried not to think of little Papa Smurf and a few of his little blue fellow smurfs being forced into a blender with ice and made into this bluey treat for me to enjoy.

For lunch I chose a back street cafe where the menu read no English and the waitress understood no English. Laughingly I again had to resort to making animal noises to order my meal. Good thing I can do a fantastic impression of a pig and so I was confident I would be served some meal containing pork. When the plate was first put in front of me I thought maybe my pork noises resembled the sound of earth worms as this
plate of worms?plate of worms?plate of worms?

actually this tasted much better than it looks, there was pork under all that onion.
is what my meal looked like. But it ended up being pork with loads of onions which resembled worms. This mean may not have looked the best but again my taste buds were happy with the result they were experiencing.

I walked around some more and somehow I managed to miss not one but two buses back to Lenka's home. It was not a problem, however it was almost 7pm by the time I returned and darn it I had missed the 10km afternoon dog walk!

Advertisement



17th July 2011

Looks a bautiful country
Hi Cindy just saw Czezy Krusenov? on Getaway, it does look beautiful. Am so enjoying your Blogs, but still liked the emails better. Where are you off to now? xx Hilda
19th July 2011

Hi Hilda
yep beautiful place, on Getaway heh, well I hope now it will not be over run with horrible Australian tourists! lol

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb