Planning my Balkans Trip in 2015


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia
January 21st 2015
Published: June 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Balkans visit 2015


After saving many frequent flyer miles on our flight from Denver to Lima in April 2014, it didn't take long to acquire the additional miles to reach the 40,000 miles I would need to fly to Europe at the off season rate. Linda decided she didn't want to make this trip. We will spend a week on Hawai'i's Big Island in October instead.

Of course, the airline frequent flyer seats go quickly so on 30 June 2014 I booked my flights on American Airlines and its One World partners...departing Colorado Springs on 15 April 2015 via Dallas/Fort Worth, Charlotte, London Heathrow (with 4 hours and 40 minutes to make the connection) to Gatwick, and from there to Dubrovnik, Croatia. I will depart from Ljubljana on 27 April, with a short overnight in Helsinki, then Brussels, Philadelphia, Dallas/Fort Worth, and home in time for Linda's birthday on 29 April. My friend Mike will be joining me, arriving in Dubrovnik a couple hours before I do.

We will be renting a car as it isn't that much more expensive than other forms of transportation, gives us maximum flexibility, and saves a lot of time not having to wait for buses with all the necessary connections. From Dubrovnik, Croatia (country 81) we plan to visit Kotor, Montenegro (country 82); Mostar, Bosnia Herzegovina (country 83); then back to Croatia to Split and Trogir; Krka National Park; Plitvicka Lakes National Park; then along the coast to Opatija and the Istrian Peninsula towns of Rovijna and Piran, Slovenia (country 84) before heading inland to Lake Bled and Zagreb (where we will drop off the rental car within Croatia thereby avoiding expensive drop off charges), and finally by train back to Ljubljana. Total mileage is about 1000 miles. I can drive that far in a day in the States so spreading it over 10 days should be comfortable.

I've booked our rooms at an average cost of $53/night. I should be able to eat for $30/day by eating simply in local restaurants.

Spring will have arrived with all the spring flowers and daytime temperatures in the 70's, but still too cold to swim, not that I would have since I'm not into rocky beaches...but they are beautiful.

Advertisement



30th June 2014

Planning...
Bob that sounds like a fantastic trip. I have no tips to offer as we haven't ventured into that part of the world yet, however I can't wait to read about your trip! Happy planning.
30th June 2014

I'm on a roll...
booked all my rooms for about $20/day less than I had budgeted!
30th June 2014

We love the planning phase
I'm sorry Linda has decided to send you out on your own but sprucing up the house sounds nice also. It does sound like you've booked the perfect time of year. We are eager to go to that part of the world so we will use your blogs as our guide.
1st July 2014

Love the planning...
would you care to join me!? I'll have space in the rental car.
30th June 2014

your trip
Sounds good Bob ,the roads are not very good over there particularly narrow and windy on the way to Orebic and Korcula. But the views stunning. We didnt think much of Rovinj , Zadar is stunning. We are off to Croatia in September again but this time taking in Cres, Krk and Mali Losinj. Cheap country with cheap fuel .
30th June 2014

Thanks for the road information...
and since you mentioned it, how much does gas cost?
1st July 2014

Nipping out
Nipping out to carouse in nether lands...off the leash so to speak...back in time for Linda's birthday. A number of wise moves coming together. Enjoy.
1st July 2014

Nipping out...
This will be my first extended trip that I've been on my own in many years. It will definitely be a new experience!
1st July 2014

price of diesel
When we went last year diesel was around 99 kuna I must admit I had a shock when they asked for 44 kuna to go over the bridge to Krk until I realised it was less than £4. Main roads OK and some excellent motorways which are relatively empty. We fell in love with Croatia , the people are very friendly , the young speak good English and the scenery is absolutely stunning. Also a little undiscovered. We wished we had got to Mostar but we had trouble with insurance for Bosnia for the motorhome. I dont know what hire car companies are like but there is a big difference between Croatia which is on its way to becoming part of the EU and Bosnia . We had to pay rather a lot for two weeks insurance to allow us to drive over the Neum corridor between the north part of Croatia to get to Dubrovnik. That little bit of coast which was given to Bosnia causes drivers awful problems. You either pay an arm and a leg to go through or you go through without insurance. And we were told they wouldnt insure the motorhome if we went into Bosnia. There is a ongoing problem off piste with land mines from the 90's war.
2nd July 2014

Thanks for the gas prices...
and as for insurance, the rental car company insurance covers Montenegro and Bosnia, but none of the other countries eastward...Albania, Macedonia, Bulgaria, Romania. I'll make sure my company covers the countries I am traveling to. Your previous visits to this area have inspired me, and I look forward to reading about your September trip.
9th January 2015

croatia
Food cheap you will be able to eat well and cheaply too . Petrol very cheap or diesel too . We loved Korkula , got the ferry over from Orebic and thought Zadar a dream . We preferred Croatia to Slovenia but around Lake Bled is scenic . Get out early on the walls in Dubrovnik. If I remember they open at aobut 8 or 8.30 and if you there first you get good photos .
22nd March 2015

Sounds great
Wowl, Will I be able someday to plan my trips as well as you have? It looks promising, enjoy

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb