Day 26 - Frid 28th June 2013 Dubrovnik to Hvar island on the Croatian Adriatic coast


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia
June 26th 2013
Published: July 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Stari Grad in HvarStari Grad in HvarStari Grad in Hvar

Stari Grad in Hvar
Day 26 - Frid 28th June 2013
Dubrovnik to Hvar island on the Croatian Adriatic coast

My friend 'Tomo' said to me "Hvar is a beautiful island, we will visit it on our trip to Croatia". So today, I set off from Dubrovnic and headed to Hvar. I drove for miles along the beautiful Adriatic coast. Suddenly, a border crossing came up, I thought 'that is strange, Dubrovnik is in Croatia and so it Hvar'. Anyway, I did my duty and cleared the border checks.

I carried on driving to Hvar, then suddenly this car behind me horned me. I know my car is slow, so I just ignored the car behind. Then the behind gave me the horn again, this time the driver was making hand gestures at me. I did my usual 'I am a tourist, I know nothing' gesture back. A little later, he overtook me, that was fine, but the suddenly braked in front of me - that is a dangerous act because the brakes in my car is not 100% efficient and I nearly hit the car in front. I was furious, and shouted some abuse at the car with Slovenian plates. About a miles down the road, I saw the car stopped on the side of the road and 2 men came out of the car to wave me to stop. I thought 'Is it the Slovenian mafia I have upset?'. I stopped the car, and these 2 men came up to me to say "You fuel cap has fallen off and we tried to tell you earlier". Suddenly, it all made sense, I refuelled my vehicle earlier and the petrol attendant either forgotten to put the fuel cap back on or did not put it on properly.

I promptly apologised to the father and son for my rudeness earlier.

I turned the car round and drove back to the petrol station where I refuelled. Went through the border control again. At the petrol station, the attendant denied everything, there is nothing I could do about it.

This is a new one that I bought from Mercedes in Switzerland at great expense. I am fed up losing these fuel caps. I lost the first one near Monaco. I lost the second one somewhere between Dubrovnik and Hvar.

Hvar is an island and I had to get a car ferry to the island. I bought the ticket at the port and boarded the ferry. The sailing took about 30 minutes, then I was driving off the ferry and onto the island of Hvar.

The first hour or so I was driving on part of Hvar that was sparsely populated with a few houses, lots and lots of olive trees and pine trees.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Tree growing out of my carTree growing out of my car
Tree growing out of my car

Tree growing out of my car
Tree growing out of my carTree growing out of my car
Tree growing out of my car

Tree growing out of my car


Tot: 0.315s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb