Split


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia
September 22nd 2011
Published: September 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I did a tour North of Split to Zadar which is a beautiful ride. Spent a night in Vodarice which is a lower end resort town.

I spent two nights in a small village near the airport between Trogir and Split. I recommend this hotel Villa Zarco as it was really clean and had direct access to swim in the sea. I also had great dinner at the only restaurant near here that you don't need to drive to.

An overview of all of Croatia is mountains coming up against the Adriatic and over a tousand Islands where always one seems to be in view no matter where you are. I would say it is defintely worth seeing. However, I do think places like Hawaii are really beatiful as well since you get sand and waves which you don't in Croatia. Just different beauty really.

In Split you need to see the Diocletian palace take a walking tour for about 15 dollars which lasts about 90 minutes. There is some original stone work here from the 3rd century. Beyond that there are tons of vendrs and it is completely mobbed with cruise ship crowds.

I would skip Trogir as I really didn't find anything exceptional that I couldn't find anywhere else. It is a UNESCo city basically because it was a strategic port for Venice (which ruled a lot of Croatia at one point), but not must see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb