Every girl has a travel dream


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Central Croatia » Zagreb
October 29th 2011
Published: October 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I live in small European country, Croatia, which has population approximately just as Manhattan and Brooklyn together. For those who have no idea about what I’m talking about, here’s the map:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/641/croatiamap.gif/

Croatia has stunningly beautiful coast, sea and lots of islands, rich history, greeeat food, beautiful capital city Zagreb, nice people and great climate with a lot of sunny days. Sounds like ideal touristic country. What Croatia doesn’t have is bright future, good business opportunties and an “American dream”. And every girl needs to dream about something, doesn’t she? What place in the world can be better to realize your American dreams than in America itself?!

Few days ago I started my final year at Department of Geography at University of Science here in Zagreb. I have six more exams and final work to became Master in Geography and start working in… well, somewhere, probably in tourism. Before that, I want to do something new, exciting and something I will not be able to repeat.

We were in Bulgaria when a colleague started to talk about the States and how we should go together. I was thinking about that opportunity before and abandoned it because I didn’t want to go alone. Of course, she putted a worm in my mind and whole Bulgarian trip I was thinking just about the States. I think I made my decision only few days after when I told her: “In America, remind me that I take smaller bag!”.

So, what’s the deal? Some of you may have heard about the CCUSA agency (I have no idea how popular it is outside Croatia). Well, if you are a student in Croatia they can help you to go to United States for most four months (three months working and one month of grace period for travelling). We decided to go in mid-June 2012, somewhere to East Coast (Jersey Shore, OC Maryland, maybe even New York for some period). Until then we need to face a lot of barriers, earn about 2000€ (more than $2500), get visa, plane ticket, get a job, place to stay and lots of other things (we are accepting all suggestions!). Stay tuned!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb