Princess Sofia


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Sofia City » Sofia
August 17th 2011
Published: August 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I love the train. I remember how excited I was when boarded one for the first time. There is no better way of transportation. Well, I thought so... Serbian trains are a whole new adventure.

So, we are on our way to the train station. It is way too early in the morning. I am having a coffee and checking my e=mail in the Internet cafe close by. From my computer's chair I have a perfect view on the mess coming. The train is just a mix of wagon from all across Europe. I now know what they are doing with their very old trains. Inside, people are smoking in the corridors and children's are running and jumping everywhere like it is the first time they are allowed to do so. I am looking for a compartment, but this time, for one full of backpack. It is going to be a very long 12 hours.

The ride itself was not too bad. It was certainly not comfortable, very dirty (worse WC ever) and slow, but we were able to sleep and did not get stolen. The border customs were the worse I ever experience though. They almost destroyed everything still working in the train trying to find drug. We all had to open our luggage and it took ages.

We made it alive and Sofia was good. We stayed in an upper class neighborhood with a multi=generation family. I enjoyed playing with the kids who at eight and ten speak almost perfect English. I also had fun speaking a mix of German/French/English/Bulgarian with the Grandpa who was very proud to communicate with me and offering me beers from his hometown. It was also fascinating to speak French with the Grandma who did so for the first time in 50 years.

Sofia, the city is not special, but there are nice buildings and churches a bit everywhere. The people were all very nice to and the cuisine was very good. I really enjoy all the restaurant we have been to and they were all very cheap.

Stay tune. I will catch up soon

Nick








Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb