Survivng my 1st winter!!


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Sofia City » Boyana
February 6th 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So to continue.As you know the winter weather had arrived in style on my return thus cramping my actions to a degree.However now,although some roads still have snow verges, most of the land is clear.I just have 2 small pockets remaining at boyana - both houses. There is a minor trickle emanating from groundfloor new shower tap installation that I intend to get fixed and No 24 had to have a new water meter as the glass had cracked.Unfortunately the taps either side are too old to close properly and so this is another thing requiring fixing. With the addition of a wardrobe for top bedroom and 3 drawer chest of drawers it is complete and the lounge is also finished off there.The next big push is to tidy up and re-vamp Yunets, prior to' kells' visiting, including fittting new wc and whb and bath.New beds now in place and 2 matresses for singles are to be collected on sat hopefully, from Dave and Mary's.Georgie is coming down with me to help shift rubbish(recycling items!) out of the buildings and outhouses and back up to Boyana for distribution!.Hope the new vehicle will be able to cope . For those of you who don't know the van is now with Martin, for use as fishing accom, and his parents car is now mine for approx14,000 GBP on the road(incl tax and insurance.) With 2,4,4x4 wheel drive it has already proved itself both at home and now Yunets--Thank god I had it as a thin gully has appeared down the centre of the track(snow erosion on runoff) so one has to drive round on the sides!!It is heavy on diesel as might be expected but fortunately this is no big deal given prices here.Currently I am awaiting the return of car docs after re-registration to me, via Kapital power of attorney.Will make further journeys less stressful I hope as no need to fear police stop negotiations!For those that know their cars it is a 2002 Nissan Patrol with all mod-cons incl latest top engine 3L, and freezer compartment between front seats for cold drinks - run off the air-conditioning.It can also seat 7 people so 5 with luggage should be a breeze.Will know in may when Sam,Stu and (Lee) Laming family arrive.Also hope to see Brett/kathy in spring. Kells 4 in March and poss also Aug. so things looking up.
Whilst still living in the spare house I occasionally spend my evenings down at 24 watching T.V. but most nights I can be found in mater's watching Bulg programmes,enjoying a glass or 2 of wine, my contribution, and getting the feel of real Bulgarian village living.Have developed a close friendship and act occasionally as' tick' merchant which has always been repaid as soon as G gets next work. It is nice to have a bolt hole from video-watching on my own at the house and last night when all adults of (local)'clan' descended , I was able to make myself understood and communication was adequate.Certainly I appear to have impressed with the way I muck in with lifestyle and my efforts to talk are appreciated. Best video oppourtunity was missed however as G (in role of donkey) and grandson and myself took the new bed with original matress from house to 24 on the cart..Caused some comment in the village as you can imagine but was glad of not having to use car. Mater has been constantly ill from an ear infection on top of normal diabetes and asthma so most of the paltry income has gone on medicines from doctors (100Lv +) already so my tick intervention has baled them out.Knowing how it is to have (cash-flow) problems I can empathise. So between unofficial adoption by mater + co,new TV ,house repairs/improvements and, on Fri , 1st of remaining 2 days Bulg classes I am not finding myself bored or lonely. Now I'll finish this epistle. Next time I promise to keep it short(probably).Bye for now Supergran.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb