Varna to Burgas on Bulgaria's black sea coast


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Burgas Province
July 5th 2013
Published: July 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

View of the Black Sea from my tentView of the Black Sea from my tentView of the Black Sea from my tent

View of the Black Sea from my tent
Frid 5th July 2013

Varna to Burgas on Bulgaria's black sea coast

This morning it was the usual routine at the camp. Had a light breakfast, check the car for oil and then left the camp site for Burgas further down the black sea coastline. My intention was to drive along the coast and enjoy the coastline scenery. The stupid SatNav thought differently, it guided me back to the motorway on the 'fastest' mode. I tried to change the setting halfway and it didn't like it and took me to the most horrendous Bulgarian roads imaginable. It was raining heavily, I was driving to avoid potholes the size of my wheel, the suspensions took a real battering and I was surprised I made it through those roads. There were sow very steep roads where I was climbing hundreds of metres over a short distance, this time the car made it through without overheating because it was cooler and the rain water hitting the radiator helped to keep the whole car cool.

Eventually, I reached Burgas south of Varna and not too far from Istanbul. I drove into the town centre and found parking. I walked towards the pedestrianised
CampCampCamp

Camp
shopping area and decided to eat something local. I could only stop for one hour so I hurriedly went back to the car and then looked for a campsite in Burgas. About 20 km down the coast was a campsite. I checked in the camp and found a place to pitch the tent for the night.

The standard of camping has been steadily declining and this place has below average standard of hygiene. Not too impressed and can't wait to leave tomorrow.

The camp is located near the beach and there is a private party there playing very loud music, so it looks like a night with little sleep.

On the beach, I saw about 4 ' 孔明 灯‘ being launched from the beach. I thought 'This is great. I can't imagining seeing these lanterns in a Bulgarian beach.'

Anway, tomorrow will be another long trip and I will be crossing the border to Turkey. Might have to give up camping and maybe opt for hotels instead.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Camp receptionCamp reception
Camp reception

Camp reception
Beach at the campBeach at the camp
Beach at the camp

Beach at the camp
Beach at the campBeach at the camp
Beach at the camp

Beach at the camp
Burgas streetBurgas street
Burgas street

Burgas street
Burgas streetBurgas street
Burgas street

Burgas street - pedestrianised street
Burgas house - before and after paintingBurgas house - before and after painting
Burgas house - before and after painting

Burgas house - before and after painting


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb