BRUGES, BELGIUM AND BEER TASTING


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » West Flanders » Bruges
June 1st 2013
Published: June 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

BRUGES, BELGIUM AND BEER TASTING

I landed at Zeebrugge, port for Bruges, Belgium, for a tour entitled “Bruges and a taste of Belgian beer”. Weather was overcast in the morning but cleared up to be a beautiful day. During the 30 minute drive the guide gave small samples of the dark chocolate and milk chocolate that Belgium is famous for. When I got to this medieval city, the guide led me on a walking tour through this fantastic place. The narrow, cobblestone streets and the ancient buildings were pointed out by the guide. Highlights included the Belfry Tower and the Chapel of the Holy Blood.

But after the walk I started the real adventure, Belgian beer tasting. There were 26 people in my group and we had reserved tables in the local café. The place was crowded but the atmosphere was great. We tried 4 different beers each a different style; Cambrivinous draft (a local brew), Hoegaarden, Dikke Mathile, and the most powerful at 13% ABV the Trappist Westmalle. The small country (about the size of Virginia) produces more than 450 varieties of beer.

I wanted to taste the French Fries, so I bought a hot dog and
RESTAURANTSRESTAURANTSRESTAURANTS

AT BRUGES
fries and washed it down with 1664. Very good! It took only a short drive to return to the ship and prepare for disembarking in the morning.

Gratuities are included as a charge against each room account, but I gave additional gratuities to the Crow’s Nest piano man, Buddy, two of the Crow’s Nest bartenders, Raffy and Leo, the dining room wine steward and waiter and my room stewards, Danang and Herman. When we debark tomorrow morning in Tilbury, England, I will have gone 4,438 nautical miles from Fort Lauderdale, Florida in the 15 days. It was a great cruise and now I look forward to London.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

ARCHITECTUREARCHITECTURE
ARCHITECTURE

AT BRUGES
CANALCANAL
CANAL

BRUGES
TOUR BOATTOUR BOAT
TOUR BOAT

BRUGES
TOUR BOATTOUR BOAT
TOUR BOAT

BRUGES
BEER TASTINGBEER TASTING
BEER TASTING

LOCAL BEER BRUGES


6th November 2013

Positive feeling
Hello, I got a real positive feeling when reading your blog on Bruges. As a city guide to be (still studying) I read blogs to know what people do when they're visiting our lovely city. The more I know about what you look for, the better I can help others when walking them through Bruges. Already I'm doing free walks for people from the hostels. But eager to learn more. That's why I started my own blog. Answering the questions people ask. If you know people who'll visit Bruges, have them read the blog (http://brugesbyandy.blogspot.be) and they'll probably find some useful tips on it. Andy Borgonjon

Tot: 0.37s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1781s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb