Hi there!


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Limburg » Hasselt
February 19th 2011
Published: February 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Oioi,
I haven’t actually set of yet but I guess it wouldn’t hurt too much to make like an opening statement and explain a bit what my plans actually are.
So, I am going on a round the world trip, doing all kinds of touristy stuff .
I will most likely be staying at hostels as they are cheap and not to bad when it comes to comfort(which a tent might be or become after a first or second month of travelling).
Also, I haven’t booked any flights yet, I will be booking each flight individually when I plan to leave for the next location, so I can stay longer if I like it there or get out asap when I don’t.
Currently it seems I will have everything set to go by mid-March.
Besides that there isn’t really much to say besides where I will be going I think ..

Ok, the trip will most likely be following this route.
-New York City
-Washington D.C.
-San Francisco
-Los Angeles/Las Vegas(neither really appeal to me but I will visit one on my way to Flagstaff, from where I will be visiting the Grand Canyon)
-Havana, Cuba
-Yucatan, Mexico
-Belize, will be passing trough here mostly on my way to
-Northern Guatemala, where I will be looking to stay in a place called Flores
-Rio de Janeiro
-Foz do Iguacu, Brazil
-Paraguay, this part of the trip is a story on itself, I don’t know yet where I will be going, more info to follow surely 😉
-Lima and Cusco, Peru
-Auckland, Hamilton and Raglan, New Zealand
-Sydney and Cairns, Australia
-Bali, Indonesia
-Tokyo and Osaka, Japan
-Beijing, Xian and Lhasa, China
-Nepal, I think I will be simply travelling trough here to
-New Delphi and Agra, India
-And my final stop will probably be Sri Lanka

I believe I should be able to complete this trip in four or five months without stressing it, however I did not set myself a mandatory time frame so it might take more or less time, but you know .. we’ll see 😊

So if u have anything to ask or add, feel free to use the guestbook to your hearts content or simply send me a mail.

Cheers,
Peter Vanmuysen

Advertisement



13th March 2011

destinations
hello Peter, what are you going to do with Japan now? PP
16th March 2011

Empire State of Mind! :)
Hey Peter, So you probably in NYC now! Hope you enjoy your stay! Don't forget to update asap with your impressions on the Big Apple. Some pics would be nice, too! Cheers, -S.
21st March 2011

your choices
Dear Peter,Pieje. Thanks for your today's reaction. Still doing well,we hope. If you don't mind, we have another question for you. Most of the places you intend to visit are wellkown. However there are a few which are not, such as Xian, Lhasa, Foz do Iguaca, Agra, Raglan, Cairns and Flores. What is the critirion for your choices ? Nature/culture/religion/people? We think, it must not have been easy to choose a particular place instead of another? As you know we are both retired. This makes it possible to follow your adventure with more than common interest, but other readers of this travel blog may be interested in this info, as well. And now Frisco.Warmest greetings Irène and Jacques
22nd March 2011

Well, most of the places you names might not be too famous but most of them do host a wellknown monument of some sort; xian - terracotta army lhasa - potala palace Foz - one of, if not the, most impressive waterfalls in the world Agra - taj mahal raglan - nothing really, if the weather is right i might learn to surf there :)(not everything needs to be serious and about culture) Cairns - great barrier reef Flores - is itself beautifully located and offers acces to Tikal I never really found it hard since i just decided to go everywhere where i wanted to so ... its not like i had to leave anything out(besides egypt, jordan and moscow but who knows ... maybe some day )

Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb