Europe Vacation - Vienna, Austria


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna
March 27th 2012
Published: March 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Vienna....Arrived in Vienna....Arrived in Vienna....

...now gotta take the train to the hotel. Which way do I go...YIKES!!!!
Hello My Faithful BLOG Followers!

It has been a while since my last entry, but I am confident that these next 5 entries of my current and ongoing travels in Europe, will be well worth the wait.

Overview: This first entry is from Vienna, Austria...our first destination and where we began this journey. I arrived on my own the first day and wandered the streets exploring Vienna for 2.5 hrs before I could check in to the hotel. Day two, I was alone until my fellow teacher friend from Abu Dhabi Terri, arrived to share the remainder of my Europe vacation with me. That day, I toured Vienna on a rented bicycle and took in some great sites, and took some fun pics. Finally, on day three, we toured Vienna via the "Hop on, Hop off" tour bus.

Apparently, there are '3' must see and do's in Vienna:

1. Eat Schnitzel ....check √ (twice, once on a bun and once with the best potato salad ever!).

2. Experience the taste of Vienna's own chocolate cake........check √ (only did that once, gotta make sure I still fit into the clothes I brought, especially my skinny jeans).
On the CAT train...On the CAT train...On the CAT train...

...hope I'm going the right way :-)

And finally,

3. Attend the Opera/Symphony/Ballet with music tributes to Mozart, Strauss, and Beethoven (all of whom have lived in Vienna at one time, in case some of you are unaware) .....check √ (was very nice, but for those of you who know me well...only ONCE for that one).

As you will see from the photos, we did much more!!

My Opinion of Vienna: Vienna was beautiful, as some of you may already know. The food - YUMMY!! The people - so/so, like anywhere some are very friendly and helpful, others not so much. The weather in late March - Well here we lucked out according to our hotel owners. High 60's everyday, making our touring around very enjoyable!

Well, enjoy the pics and don't forget to read the captions...they will give a bit more detail to EVERYTHING!

Next destination.....Prague.

To be continued.... xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 81, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Made it to the tram...Made it to the tram...
Made it to the tram...

...is this a tram? lol
Finally found the tram stop...Finally found the tram stop...
Finally found the tram stop...

...almost there, inshallah !(God willing, as the Muslims say)
Ahhh....the tram.....Ahhh....the tram.....
Ahhh....the tram.....

....looks like a modern version of a Toronto 'Streetcar'
The hotel Urania.....The hotel Urania.....
The hotel Urania.....

....made it, on my own adventure and without paying 40 euros for a cab.
Too early for check in....Too early for check in....
Too early for check in....

....so left my bags at the hotel and walked around exploring the 'older/charming' part of Vienna.
St. Omer Catholic Church...St. Omer Catholic Church...
St. Omer Catholic Church...

...wow, just up the street. Sunday masses 9,10,11,12....went for the 10, meaning to go to 9 but the clocks went ahead the night before, so I completely missed it.
The Square...The Square...
The Square...

...they have these cool little 'squares' throughout Vienna with food stands and outside patio restaurants....very charming!
City Bike stop....City Bike stop....
City Bike stop....

...many of these throughout Vienna. You rent a bike for an hourly rate and can pick it up and drop it off at any of the stands you like...I used this feature for my adventure on Day 2. They are doing this now in Toronto as well.
I love these little Austrian school kids...!I love these little Austrian school kids...!
I love these little Austrian school kids...!

...I seem to have an eye for kids no matter where I go...love them!
My dinner stop of choice...My dinner stop of choice...
My dinner stop of choice...

...Day one 1st 'real' Schnitzel experience in Austria.
Just another cool pic of something...Just another cool pic of something...
Just another cool pic of something...

...keep in mind I have been walking awhile, after approx. 8 hrs of flying and traveling....wha,wha
Liked this...Liked this...
Liked this...

...I love colours!!


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb