Day 7. The amazing Salzburg


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna
June 7th 2012
Published: March 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Unfortunatly today, I over-slept and missed breakfast so I was given nothing but a glass of water.-how nice😞



We got another 'FREE SENIC CHOICE" today. In Europe, countires are very close together so it doesn't take long to get there. The 3 choices today were three different countires:
Passau

SalzburgCesky Krumlov


I chose Salzburg because this was where the movie"Sound of Music" was filmed. I was so excited to get there I was jumping with excitement all the way there. We took the train there and half way through, got off and stopped and a little bistro. We all shared a big pizza filled with heaps of different toppings and some that I've never seen before. The pizzas here are thinner and are so much more lighter than the normal Domino's pizza I'm used to. The Ingredients in Europe they use are ALWAYS fresh and this actually makes a big difference when your someone like me who is used to take-out pizza.



Passau is 60miles away so it took us 96.5kilometers to get there. I hate long train or bus rides so it was really hard for me to keep still and I was about to burst before we finally stopped and got off the bus. I fell on the floor and sait there stretching my legs.



We were guided through the whole setting of 'the sound of music'. The weather today was completely perfect so it was the best view we got of the fields and scenery. The air here is so much fresher than the city and all you could smell was the grass and trees around you. We all sat down on the field for a minute and closd our eyes, listning to our surroundingss. It was so relaxing I wanted to stay there forever, but since we arrived there later than expected we went back to the ship.



On the train on the way back, I looked at all the people who probably took the train reguarly. Everybody was talking so loudly but was still polite and constantly offered anybody who walked past a seat. All the women were dressed well and majority of them were staring at themselves correcting any little mistake with their make-up.



For dinner we had a traditional Austrian meal called Tafelspitz. I ate it up and it was delicious untill I got told what it Haggis was.I was completely put off my food and praayed to god I hadn't odered the wrong thing.I asked the waiter what a Tafelspitz actually was he said "It's a typical Austrian dish. The beef is simmered along with root vegetables and spices in the broth. It is usually served with roasted slices of potato and a mix of minced apples and horseradish or sour cream mixed with horseradish" yay it wasn't haggis.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb