Christmas in Vienna - The Nutcracker


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
December 20th 2013
Published: December 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I had been looking forward to the Nutcracker ever since I bought my ticket about two weeks ago. I had decided to splurge a little and get a good seat. You don't pick the individual seat, but a group area. Well, when they sent me my seat number and I looked it up.... my excitement got kicked into high gear. I was in an upper balcony seat, immediately next to the highest price group. I bought a new dress and determined this was my Christmas present to myself.

My seat and the ballet did not disappoint. I was worried I would be a little overdressed for the show, but I needn't have worried - there were all types of dress going on there. I stopped on my way to my seat for a glass of wine (I really do like the Zweigelt here) and took some pictures of the beautiful foyer. I found my seat, right next to a Swiss couple who were very pleasant. The view was PERFECT! My seat was perfect. The private balcony suite was perfect. I was giddy. There are three seats along the balcony, with two rows of two seats behind (a total of 7
Our balcony suiteOur balcony suiteOur balcony suite

My seat was on the balcony on the right
seats per suite). We only had two other ladies behind us the whole time though. There is a coat room behind the seats. And my view was just spectacular. I took some photos and headed back out. I was not planning on a second glass of wine, but I didn't know anyone. So, I took my glass and took some more photos. I didn't finish it all - fortunately, it is not like going to an NFL game where they charge you $10 for a beer. This was 3.40 euros - not too shabby.

I returned to my seat and the show soon started. The kids in the first act were incredible, but it is not the first act that makes this particular ballet. At intermission, yes, I got another glass of wine and headed back. The second act was beyond spectacular. Once the Russian Trepak started, I got a little teary-eyed. The Waltz of the Flowers was my favorite part of the whole ballet - all the dancers for this portion were right in sync and the colors and choreography was beautiful. The Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy, was the one I was most looking forward to, but while the orchestra was FAN-TAS-TIC, I was little disappointed with the choreography for this one. The orchestra itself was just phenomenal. The conductor came out during the encore and took a bow and indicated the rest of his crew. I clapped so long and hard, my arms seriously started to hurt! Overall, amazing, amazing show!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



20th December 2013

Beautful!
You, the opera house, and the performance all look spectacular!! Seriously, love that dress! Glad you are having a great time and enjoying some much needed time off. It looks so beautiful there. Thanks for the updates and pics! I have been checking my emails all day today hoping for a blog entry about the Nutcracker!:) Love you and miss you much!
1st January 2014

Thanks Can!!!
It was an amazing experience that I'm so glad I did. The show and the atmosphere was fantastic and just put me in the Christmas mood. And yes, the dress is pretty awesome.... :) I bought in Dubai a couple of weeks before and was so looking forward to wearing it. I wonder when I'll be able to wear it again, though!!!
21st December 2013

The Nutcracker
We have tickets to the Vienna Orchestra and are excited. Who knows what else we might find once we get there. Last year this time of year we were in Cuba and saw the Nutcracker while there. It was lovely. I'm sure all of the Vienna performances are top quality.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb