Vietnamese in Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
November 25th 2011
Published: November 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

If you haven't worked it out yet, I am quite behind in my blogs (so you aren't reading what I did a week ago, more like a month or two ago.. I am trying to catch up!). Read on for my adventures from 30 September (happy birthday mum!) until 3 October 2011..

Another city, another country!

Welcome to Austria, home of where one of the greatest movie musicals of all times was filmed! I had 3 stops in Austria, and had 3 very unique experiences. First stop is Vienna.

One could spend hours exploring Vienna’s museums and historical buildings by day and enjoying its musical culture by night. But with only 2 days to visit Vienna, I opted to explore the city highlights from the outside, where you can enjoy the architecture and design for free!

I know some of you wonder if I spend my days alone or with people I meet along the way. Well to date I have spent time with friends (in Paris, Bruges and Germany), then enjoyed some 'me' time in Prague and on this part of my journey I am hanging out with with some fellow Busabout’ers (people I met on the bus).

Exploring with fellow travellers has its benefits, the main one being you don’t have to eat alone! So I bet you are wondering what tickled my tastebuds in Vienna? Well I did have a traditional pork snitzel and also Vietnamese – not once, but 3 times! The famous Naschmarket (fresh food market) was just across the road from the hostel and was packed with fresh fruit and veg and plenty of tasty Vietnamese restaurants!

Can you imagine living in a 1441-room palace, just in the summer!? At the end of the 17th century Emperor Leopold I commissioned the gifted Baroque architect Bernhard Fischer von Erlach to build a palatial hunting lodge for the heir of the throne. ‘Schloss Schonbrunn’ (palace) is now a UNESCO World Heritage site. My fellow travellers and I had a walk in the gardens and if more time permitted, a step inside to explore some of the rooms would have been a royal blast from the past!

In Europe many shops, restaurants and some attractions are closed on Sundays. I have been lucky that most Sundays I spend sitting on the bus. The ‘World Press Exhibition’ caught our eye and was
Schönbrunn PalaceSchönbrunn PalaceSchönbrunn Palace

View from the back garden..
the perfect thing to see on a Sunday! It was a brilliant display of images and the story behind the shot, taken from all over the world. There were even a few Aussie ones!

Oh and one other thing, I tasted the best ever gelato in Vienna (just incase you ever come here, make sure you try it!). I’ve heard Italy is meant to have the best Gelato.. I will definitely take on this taste challenge!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Simply the Best! Simply the Best!
Simply the Best!

So good I went back for seconds..!
Leopold's LodgeLeopold's Lodge
Leopold's Lodge

Not a bad holiday/hunting house..
Schönbrunn PalaceSchönbrunn Palace
Schönbrunn Palace

The crowning touch to the Baroque masterpiece


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb