Fright Night in Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
July 9th 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Kathy visits St Stevens and affixes herself to the stone!!

Well . . . . I don't think the video of me describing what happens really does it justice. Robert and I were touring Vienna's pride and joy - St. Stephen's Cathedral. One of the stops was to go look at the bell tower and a view of Vienna. Well, Robert bought us tickets and both of us went up in this little elevator with this nice Viennese man. The door opens and you have to walk out onto a grate surrounded by a metal fence that is hanging off of one of the spires of St. Stephen's overlooking the roof. I was not prepared for this. I walked out a few feet and just froze. Robert asked only once if I wanted to go up the ten flights of stairs that would bring me to the view but I declined. He realized after the fact that he could have never gotten me down ( I would have had to keep my eyes open to walk down the stairs and I could not have done that). When he came down, I was still clinging to the side of the spire. He kindly walked me to the elevator. What a scare!!! HAD TO HAVE WINE AFTER THAT. His biggest regret is that he did not videotape me clinging to the side. Wants me to re-create it. I think not.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



9th July 2008

Picture 043
Picture #043 looks like a painting!!! Its amazing!!!!
9th July 2008

yes, i am stone
Brandi, i am sure the view was beautiful but at that point, i was clinging to the rail and saw nothing. Robert took the pic while I stood in my own puddle (ha - ha) Kathy

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb