Christmas markets galore...


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
December 1st 2006
Published: December 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've sort of mentioned the Christmas market in the last entry; however, I haven't gone into much detail about what a huge part of Austrian -- as well as German -- culture (especially in Vienna) the Christmas markets are. Well, I'm sure this isn't news to anyone. It's really interesting to watch Vienna gradually turn into a big Winter Wonderland.

Starting in the middle of November, the streets have lights put up all over (which I'll sometime take pictures of at night) but these lights are just now being lit (starting Dec. 1st) at night. There are stands set up as it starts getting cold, selling roasted potato slices and roasted chestnuts, which I still haven't tried but will.

At the Rathaus (parliament), as I said in the last journal entry, the holiday celebration is started off by having a public Christmas tree lighting, and a VERY crowded "premiere" Christmas market - this happened about two weeks ago. Starting today, at the beginning of Advent, one of the 24 windows' shutters on the Rathaus building will be opened to reveal some sort of picture or something - I'm going tonight with some people to that Christmas market to see what's behind that first window!

Today's sort of my Christmas market day, I suppose - I randomly went with Katie just this afternoon to another Christmas market at the Schönbrunn palace, which was nice. It's the third one I have been to - the other one I have been to besides the Rathaus and the Schönbrunn ones is the one at Karlskirche (Karl's Church), both at night. It's, of course, more "festive" and prettier at night, but going to one during the day was nice, too, because it was a lot less crowded.

I haven't spent any money at any of the markets, but the fun of the markets is that it's just as fun to go and look at all the pretty, sparkly and yummy things. Maybe tonight I'll buy a crepe or something for my dinner 😉 They are supposedly very good, and only two Euros.

I have to get going in not too long for my friend's flute recital. But I will, as always, end this with some pictures now! These were all taken today at the Schöbrunn Palace Christmas market.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Holy cow...Holy cow...
Holy cow...

Could YOU eat a cream puff that big? Cream puffs are good, but dang...
I zoomed out...I zoomed out...
I zoomed out...

...to show all of the tasty baked items at that booth
This sign says it all:This sign says it all:
This sign says it all:

Fresh, juicy, and Styrian (Styria is a province in Austria) - I think they were referring to the Gluhwein or something.


1st December 2006

Great photos and description!
It's even nice to see snow! We haven't had any in Mpls yet to speak of . . . though some other states are being pummeled this week, ha ha. I'm glad you can enjoy the market without feeling you have to buy stuff. Get in lots of Christmas spirit while you have a chance in Austria! Are there cool Christmassy choral events to attend in nearby churches, I wonder? ("Messiah" or something?) Keep up the good work being a human sponge, which is what you're supposed to do as a foreign student. LATER!
1st December 2006

Christmas Market -- fun!
Thank you for sharing Vienna's Christmas market atmosphere (I can almost FEEL it!) and photos. A beautiful time to be there! The summer/spring Granddaddy worked there several times and I got to go join him the last time, my first day the Austrian engineer he worked with took him to meet my plane and gave me an afternoon tour of Vienna highlights. He made a point of showing me Schonbrunn Castle, said it was a highlight (May have told you.) Now it's fun to see your photo of it!!! And I loved the Opera House. Winter came this week, 8 inches of snow Tuesday overnight; still here, 0 to 20 degrees but sunny. Sunday Dec. 10 Uncle John will get his M.A. degree in Journalism at KU! Mom told me about your spring senior recital. I'll be there with bells on! You'll be enjoying Vienna's Christmas music! Love, G-mama
3rd December 2006

Yay for Christmas markets!
The markets are definitely like nothing I have ever experienced. I often see things like that in movies but not in real life! It is nice to be in a place where holidays still have some really traditional, cultural values that the community takes such pride in. It seems here as though no matter what religion people are, just about everybody enjoys the markets, and the smells of the chestnuts, the lights on the streets, etc. It is a fun time of year to be in Vienna :)
3rd December 2006

snow?
Huh, where do you see snow?? I will have to look thru the pictures to see what you are mistaking as snow, because we unfortunately haven't gotten any for at least a month :( and even the stuff we had a month ago was barely anything at all.
4th December 2006

Re who has snow, etc.
Our 8 inches that Fort Collins got five days ago still hasn't melted! Cold but beautiful. (Streets got ploughed and are fine. I keep my bird feeder filled!) 25 degrees today, sunny. Right now (4:45 p.m. Sunday) sunset is starting, a few scattered puffy pink clouds. It'll be dark by 5:15, night zero to 10. No spectacular "Christmas market" here with all those amazing goodies, but now some homes have outdoor Christmas lights.
5th December 2006

aww, I miss snow!
Snow sounds beautiful right now! I love it. I am glad you got some. Another thing that is lacking here, that Colorado has, is the Christmas lights on people's houses. I have not seen any of those; maybe later in the month. I am still not sure if that is a custom here or not!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb