Hallstatt Part One - Nature


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Upper Austria » Hallstatt
October 29th 2006
Published: October 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Pack it up pack it in! (let me begin)Pack it up pack it in! (let me begin)Pack it up pack it in! (let me begin)

Eric and Alana as we pack in. We are here getting onto the boat to Hallstatt, because Hallstatt Bahnhof is gegenüber a lake from the actual town.
This is the story of the Nature from Hallstatt. The principal players are myself, Eric, Alia and Alana. Perhaps there are pictures of Daniel and Tara as well, but I remember not if I have any pictures of them in the nature. I decided upon two albums for Hallstatt because one, it was 2 different places: a town and the nature, and two, I took entirely too many pictures, and a decent number turned out publishable for some reason, and also because Hallstatt and the surrounding area were some of the most beautiful places/things I have yet seen.

Look for explaination of why I was here, and what happened and the history of the place in the part that matters, the sequel album. Until then, enjoy majesty of Hallstatt in the fall.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Trecherous TrailsTrecherous Trails
Trecherous Trails

I said make the trail look really hard, and Eric played along. It's really those other two who destroyed this otherwise convincing picture.
HallstaetterseeHallstaettersee
Hallstaettersee

Here is the lake from above, on some trail running up past the church. With a view of the nearby thworp of Obertraun in the background.
Yes, I said thworpYes, I said thworp
Yes, I said thworp

Because the German word is Dorf and I think that they are directly related. Here is a close up on Obertraun.
There will be fog!There will be fog!
There will be fog!

This fog was always on the lake, sometimes thicker than others, but always there. Major ambiance. Also, we got attacked by the Wendelo (sp) often. And yes Ben, there is a cave.
HimmelHimmel
Himmel

Heaven, last sighted in Upper Austria.
ForestlineForestline
Forestline

Note how dramatic it goes from flat farmland to alps.
Ein Fluss läuft durch esEin Fluss läuft durch es
Ein Fluss läuft durch es

This was a river we hiked up, because Eric is from Colorado, and therefore proves his worth by walking uphill. Note the steam rising from the water.
UsUs
Us

It regnetet slightly the while while we were wandern, but one time it rained particularly nastily, and we found some Gazebo. While having to edure eachother's company, we took this shot of ourselves. Photocredit to Sasquatch.
Blue SteelBlue Steel
Blue Steel

I effortlessly put these two to shame in my modeling prowess with Blue Steel. Actually, I might be turning left, so maybe Magnum. Whatever.
SublimeSublime
Sublime

Water
Alana auf dem Malerweg.Alana auf dem Malerweg.
Alana auf dem Malerweg.

Maler means 'painter,' and shes on Malerweg. This could perhaps only be more artistic if I had taken the picture in black and white.
SalamanderSalamander
Salamander

This guy was about ten feet long. I didn't post the picture of it eating Eric, as that was too graphic.
Mystery BridgeMystery Bridge
Mystery Bridge

Actually, the mystery which enshrouded it once dissipated when we got to it, because its called Kuh-Brücke - Cow Bridge.
Keltisch outpostKeltisch outpost
Keltisch outpost

The Kelts used this structure to look out for trolls in the late bronze age.
Cryptic SignsCryptic Signs
Cryptic Signs

Wendelos put these up to mark their territory.
I have no ideaI have no idea
I have no idea

Not a clue. Sometimes, things are just too weird. At least you can drink out of here. In fact, I did.
MountainyMountainy
Mountainy

Notice how much larger the nature is than the town.
MajestyMajesty
Majesty

Waterfalls


30th October 2006

mountains, water, & scenery
Matt: You have to hike the west side of Glacier this summer if possible...looks like Montana--no kidding! Great photos. I am w/ you in spirit. t
1st November 2006

Wendelos!
They think they are bears?! They are only men! THEY ARE ONLY MEN! Oh Antonio.
5th November 2006

ALANA
You're kidding, Matt, you met someone else named Alana? She even sort of looks like me. If you squint really hard. Is she German? Are you at all creeped out at how you went to Europe and met people named Alia and Alana?
5th November 2006

Official Response
Actually, I am kidding, I have no friends. No im not kidding, her name is Alana, and shes not German, nor Austrian, she goes to the Institute with us, and she does not look like you that much... relaly... i guess youre both white and female. Also, im not that worried because Alia my RA and Alia are pronounced differently.

Tot: 0.332s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb