Rainy lakes...


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Upper Austria » Hallstatt
October 5th 2007
Published: October 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fairy Tale land!!!Fairy Tale land!!!Fairy Tale land!!!

Its Obersee.....(another Obersee...) on the way to Hallstatt.....
I HATE RAINRAINRAINRAINRAINRAIN! ok, not the Korean singer nor the HK popstar...

Was just planning to stay in Hallstatt, but since the weather was so bad, decided to go run through two lakes instead.
Hallstatt, is this VERY TINY village that is listed in UNESCO....for its beauty? for, I got there, the train station is on the other side of the lake so I had to take a boat across. It was deserted! which was nice and peaceful but the rain really made the scenery not so nice...
There are a few churches there, small and cute..haaa! The lake was beautiful, just the fog and rain covered the mountains at the back....><"

Anyways, walked around, nothing was opened...the coolest part of the village is the Beinhaus..the bonehouse. Its in the cemetery and its actually a grave of its own! The cemetery was too small so it couldn't fit everyone's grave, so after 10 years, they dug out the bones, painted on the skulls and put all these bones in the house!!! It was COOOOOL!! ad even today, one can request to have their bone put in there, but its gotta be made before one die of course..haaaa! The latest
Tiny train station!Tiny train station!Tiny train station!

suprisingly tiny for such a overly tourist place! haaaa
one they have in there was in 1995!

After that there was nothing else much to see so left lu, caught the boat and was gonna catch the express train back. It must be the rain coz I stupidly missed the train!!!!!!! WTH..first, its coy IT WAS LATE. AUSTRIA's IC trains LOVE to be late and I HATE IT!!! Anyways, there's only one track in that station, so its either this was or that way, going all to the same places, I didn't know how I missed it! My mind must have blanked.....anyways, so then I had to wait another 1/2 hour and then another hour at Bad Ischl to catch the bus to Wolfgangsee.

Wolfgangsee is this other lake...a lot bigger, with this steam train that goes up to the mountain with supposingly BEAUTIFUL view. I realy wanted to go on but got there and the weather was BAD!! the lady at the counter keep saying how not worthit it is..haaaa! Afterall, its 22 Euros....go up to see nothing ne. So ended up didn't go lu. Took the bus back......

Long train ride to Felkirch tomorrow......




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

The Kat...sth church in HallstattThe Kat...sth church in Hallstatt
The Kat...sth church in Hallstatt

also where the cemetery with the bonehouse is!
the tiny town square..the tiny town square..
the tiny town square..

or village square...
decoration..decoration..
decoration..

and using an expresso machine as decoration is the most creative thing a village sq can get!
BeinHaus!!!BeinHaus!!!
BeinHaus!!!

The bone grave inthe Bonehouse!!!!! Cool skull paintings!
I missed THIS TRAIN!I missed THIS TRAIN!
I missed THIS TRAIN!

and I took a photo of it...how come I didn't get on it?!?!?! "Ghost on Body" must be.
WolfgangseeWolfgangsee
Wolfgangsee

different style buildings here ne!! Hallstatt had more wooden houses and here its more stone and bricks...
what else can I do but to...what else can I do but to...
what else can I do but to...

ride this train as a compensation! WAHHAAAAA!
I loved this tree at first sight...I loved this tree at first sight...
I loved this tree at first sight...

before leaving Wolfgangsee....haaa
Kaiserschmarren  - Emperors pancakeKaiserschmarren  - Emperors pancake
Kaiserschmarren - Emperors pancake

Austrian national dish...somehow.... very filling! full of starch! its not bad though...=)


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb